Grandpa Gotta Eat—Garden Preparation

in #food6 years ago

Sigh. Time To Clean Up The Garden

In March and April is generally when my wife's thoughts turn to the outdoors and getting the garden area ready for planting. It's nearly always the first part of May before we get to it, though, because the weather doesn't cooperate very much. While rain or water is a key component to growing things, it's not very conducive to the prep work, especially when a rototiller is involved. So, we wait until we have a decent string of nicer days before we get started.

In total, we have three beds where most of the planting takes place every year. As you can see, we also have some plants around the garden area that don't need as much attention. Among them are raspberries, a blueberry bush, a dwarf pie cherry tree, three types of grapes (all strung together) and an apple tree—better for pies and applesauce than for eating.

One of the beds is always in strawberries, and since they are the everbearing kind, other than some weeding and adding some dirt, there isn't much more we do to spruce it up.

Before we got started.JPG

The Way Things Looked Before

The last of the following year's crop stopped bearing somewhere in mid-October. It's not always like that, but if we're fortunate, we'll have a warmer, drier fall called an Indian summer extend the growing season. There's usually not a whole lot going on regardless, but it at least allows us to put off some of the cleanup. So what you see here is what is more or less left over from last fall's cleanup, plus whatever weeds may have grown up since and wintered over.

It's actually not looking so bad. It's been a lot worse.

As you can see here, I didn't get the before picture taken until after I was part way into working the first bed. So, you also get to see my rototiller, which I really like (it's been a reliable starter every year despite it's lack of use) and it has decent sized rotating tines. The only thing I don't like much on it is the tendency for the gear shift to get stuck before it's in place. I end up wrangling the gear lever way too much. Otherwise, everything else works like a charm.

This year, we had quite a bit of dirt erosion, so we brought in some local organic garden soil in three cubic foot bags that we picked up at Home Depot. Some of the cheapest dirt I've ever seen at a reduced price of $7 USD per bag. We thought about bringing in some dirt from a nursery, but I didn't think we'd even need a yard and their minimum delivery is two. Plus, we've had some issues with some undesirable plants springing up from it (I guess they don't do the best of jobs of filtering that stuff out from wherever they get the soil).

All told, we bought six bags of the organic soil and another three bags that included some fertilizer. We probably could have used another two bags of each. As it is, we had just enough room in the back of my wife's small SUV to haul it all home.

This first sweep with the tiller I'm doing is to break up the existing dirt. It wasn't that bad, but still, it's nice to get the soil worked and it also helps to chew up whatever plant matter (weeds) might be hanging around.

Finished beds.JPG

Nice Clean Beds To Tuck Plants Into

After that, we went ahead and put in the bags. My youngest son helped move the bags into position and spread the soil contents around as evenly as possible. There was some areas where we just had to fill in with all new soil. I'm hoping that will be okay, since most of or tomato plants will go there.

Once the dirt was in place, we raked it to make it easier to navigate another pass with the tiller, and then I got back into the beds. The additional soil sank right in. It felt like some of the best dirt we've bought. We'll see how it turns out.

After the second round of tilling, with the mixing of the new soils with the existing, I went ahead and raked it again, so my wife could start planting.

In the background of the above picture, you cans see she already replanted the potatoes. That's what went under the mounds in the bed farthest away.

Tomatoes and peppers.JPG

Now It's Starting To Look Like Something

From this point, my work is basically done as far as the garden preparation goes. My wife has little patience with me when it comes to getting the plants out of their containers and into the dirt in a timely fashion. And since I'm not a gardener, I really don't mind leaving it to her.

As you can see, we've got the tomato plants lined up along the east side of what is now the closest bed. There are four different varieties of tomatoes—cherry, Roma, Celebrity and beef. We really need a good crop from all of the tomatoes this year. The only consistent bearer we've had are the cherry tomatoes. The others have been somewhat hit and miss. If all goes well, we will have more tomatoes than we know what to do with and will be once again giving them away.

The second bed has half of it filled with pepper plants. In the past my wife has put in maybe three plants, a combination of jalapeño and serrano. This time, though, I encouraged her to get a few more plants, which also include three different colors of bell peppers—green, orange and yellow. Anyone who reads my Grandpa Gotta Cook regular posts will know that bell pepper plays an important role in a lot of what I do.

The bed the farthest to the right is where the strawberries grow. My wife did add in some new plants, and both old and new have been sprouting vibrant green leaves. I'm looking forward to a year with a good crop of strawberries. Just need to keep the birds from getting to them.

All images by Glen Anthony Albrethsen. All photos were taken with an iPhone 6s.

Sort:  

Love the strawberries. My dad had a 20 acre farm when I was a kid and they had almost an acre of strawberries before it was over. I was never much of a pepper person until the last ten years or so. I have taken to cooking more with them, my latest beef soup having a mix of red and green peppers with two mid sized jalapeno peppers. As it ages in the fridge daily it gets hotter. I made it the day before yesterday and by today it might be warm enough to clear the sinuses and make me sweat, lol.

I noticed you mentioned you got organic soil. Is it possible to get organic seeds that have not been modified by Monsanto and friends? You may not know this next question, but I remember this documentary I watched years ago where the monsanto crops were cross pollinating (believe that's what they called it) with regular crops basically ruining them as well. Is there a way to protect crops from that if one wanted to grow organic?

I am not an expert at all on any of this. I do know you can get seeds that aren't genetically modified that will actually produce seeds that can then be used again. They're called heirloom seeds.

I got the soil because it came in a bigger bag, came from a local company and so was cheaper per cubic foot than others we've used. I also wanted to give something else a try because the other bagged soil wasn't doing the job.

I think as we age, our taste buds change and we need more and more spices to wake them up. I've been noticing the same thing as I get older, which is helpful, since I married a woman from Mexico City where they use quite a bit of chili peppers in their cooking. I'm able to eat hotter than I have. Unfortunately, though, my digestive system hasn't caught up, so it's not always the most pleasant of experiences after the eating part.

That's a lot of strawberries! Did he sell them, and have U-pick?

My grandparents had a sizable farm, but it was for a small head of cattle that they kept up the hill. They did have a big garden, though, the biggest I've ever seen. I remember wanting to play around in it when I was a kid, which didn't go over very well with my mother. :)

They're called heirloom seeds.

Awesome, thank you. My dream is that my small investments in crypto will pay off like others have and i will be able to get some land to work away from the insanity that seems to be growing. This will come in handy.

Unfortunately, though, my digestive system hasn't caught up, so it's not always the most pleasant of experiences after the eating part.

Hahaha. Mine seems to be getting worse as I age. Dairy gives me fits now surprisingly.

That's a lot of strawberries! Did he sell them, and have U-pick?

They were all for us. That farm was a treasure. It had a huge apple tree, mulberry trees and 2 pear trees, plus the strawberries. My mom did lots of canning, making preserves and apple butter and such. Most of the farm was rented to the neighboring farmer though. The house was unique as well, having been built in the 1700's. My dads plan when he bought it was to have a new house built a ways back from the road, but life happened and that plan never materialized. Didn't matter to me as a kid though. It was a magical place with all the animals and natural snacks waiting to be had whenever you wanted.

I remember wanting to play around in it when I was a kid, which didn't go over very well with my mother. :)

Yeah, I got in trouble a time or twelve with my clothes bearing witness I was playing in areas I wan't allowed.

Hopefully, they won't be too expensive. I can't remember how much I paid for ours, but it didn't seem like a whole lot. That was several years ago.

I think I'm having issues with dairy, too, but not so much digestively, but with increasing mucus. If it's not one gross thing, it's another. :)

Oh, that is awesome. That's also a lot of canning. That's too bad about the house, but even so, it sounds like you had more than a good time. When we lived on our grandparents farm, we had the older 1940s house while the grandparents lived down the hill about 150 yards in the house they had built in the 70s. The older house never did get finished out completely. It had plyboard walls that may or may not have newspaper or wallpaper plastered to them and it was a breeding ground for mice. When the new owners burnt it however many years back, all the mice came scurrying out of it.

Can't beat magical places.

I've been thinking for a long time that I need to have some acreage where I could just move my family and get away from what you call the craziness. I thought I might be the only one. :) It hasn't been as strong an impulse the older I've gotten, but still, there's something alluring about it. I can feel the aches and pains from the work, though, without even doing it. Would probably have to get my sons and their families to live there just to maintain it, and that's probably not going to fly. :)

Good idea to get some bell peppers in @glenalbrethsen.

Great job at getting the garden going. We've only got one climbing rose that needs to be pruned and a couple of hay baskets on the garage doors that need to be planted but we simply haven't had the time to do them.

We're away this weekend and busy the following one so I'm really not sure when we'll get to do them. They really should be planted by now. 😢

One thing I'm curious about . . . why do you have three different kinds of grapes? Do you make wine or something or are you just big fans of grapes? 😊

Nope. No wine. I think my wife got the starter sticks from someone who had three different varieties. Instead of figuring out a way to give them their own line, she just set it up so they flow up and then across one another. There's a purple and two sizes of green if I remember right. We've just ate them when they were ripe. There's quite a bit of leaves, but not nearly as many clumps of grapes.

I'm not sure how much it would take to make juice or wine, but my guess is, might muster maybe 10 ozs.

There's always something getting in the way of getting stuff done. I'm glad it's over though. Now I just got to make sure they get watered when it's not raining, which will probably mean end of May, beginning of June.

Nice looking garden @glenalbrethsen!

  • Did you give up on zucchini and other squash?
  • Looks to me like Grandpa is going to have some great stuff to cook!

No. My wife said she would go back to the nursery later and pick up the zucchini and some other squash. We had a full car load with all the dirt we hauled home. I'm sure she wants to go back and get more flowers, too, since you can never have enough of them. Because then you get to complain about how much work it is and that no one else is helping you take care of them. Not that I would know anything about that. :)

If going for flowers, you should look into some of the reblooming daylilies. Not only are they pretty and care free (just plant 'em and forget 'em), you can batter up the pods and fry them. Yum!

I hear the neighbors are going to allow you to garden in your speedo now that you have that tall fence to protect their eyes... hehe

Ha! I'm afraid it would take way more than a tall fence for that to happen. And I doubt seriously any of my neighbors would want to subject themselves to such a frightful sight.

Also, I'd have to buy a speedo, which isn't going to happen, either. I'm fortunate to even own some long swimming trunks that fit me. :)

You could post a pic using steepshot.io
and probably earn enough SBD to pay for it...
Just thinking out loud...
shocked.jpeg

or not...

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-10T16:29:21
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 90.35/100.00
Total Photos: 15
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @glenalbrethsen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71