Garbanzo bean chocolate cake (healthsquared Challenge 7)

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hello all, this dessert is my healthy submission to the @healthsquared challenge 7. I've made this gluten free chocolate cake a few times and everyone that has tried it, really enjoys it.
slice1.png

Backstory: A few years ago I decided to cut down on flour intake as I read that it adds to the inflammation in the body. As a cyclist, I need to cut down on all types of foods that adds inflammation as it will typically causes joint pain. (Like in your knees) I've read that if you have arthritis, it gets even worse.

So I went on a search for a dessert that did not include flour. (There are not too many of them aside from fruit)

The original recipe is from the site allrecipes and I just made some minor changes to tayor it for my tastes. (Dark chocolate, less sugar and added almond flour)

Ingredients:
1 bag of Ghirardelli bittersweet 60% chocolate chips (melted)
1.5 can's of Organic Garbanzo beans.
4 eggs
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup almond flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder

ingrediants.jpg

It is really easy to make as you place all of the ingredients except the melted chocolate into a blender or food processor and spin until smooth. Make sure you really blend it up well because there will be small bits of garbanzo beans in the cake if you don't. (How do I know this???) =)
firstblend.jpg

It should look something like this
firstblenddone.jpg

Then pour in the melted chocolate for the 2nd blend (It needs a little more blending after this shot)
secondblend.jpg

I use a cake pan for baking as it has a handle that separates the bottom of the cake from the pan for easy removal.
readyoven.jpg

Bake it in a preheated oven at 350* f for 40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
doneandcut.jpg

Whenever I bring this dessert to work, it is usually gone pretty quickly. It is a bit crumbly compared to a regular cake, but it is surprising good. I think one of the keys is a very smooth blend and the low amount of sugar. You can probably get away with a 1/4 cup.
slice.jpg

Try it out and bon appetit!

banner2 (1).png

Sort:  

very nice recipe. I like chocolate.

Looks delicious!

@glennolua Delicious is the dessert you made, the chickpea is very delicious, the texture is incredible, excellent, very natural and exquisite, muy innovadora tu receta sin agregar afina y única para cuidar tu alimentacion @glennolua .

Thanks for visiting and glad you enjoyed the recipe. I hope you try it if you like chocolate with a healthy twist.

Looks great, friend. Apart from that I see that the preparation is not so tedious or complicated so in a few steps we can enjoy this dessert. Additionally the provocative that is seen through the photos! With what do you usually accompany it when eating it?

Coffee in the morning, fresh raspberries usually goes well with chocolate.

Very good post I like chocolate cake too. Thank you so much for your cake recipe. I hope that if you have time, then you will share more such recipes with us.

I like to cook and do so almost everyday. I'll be sharing more healthy recipes that are easy for sure!

You got a 2.61% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @glennolua!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You got a 5.23% upvote from @upme thanks to @glennolua! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94