How to prepare Afang soup.

in #food5 years ago (edited)


Hey guys, so today, my roommate is cooking a delicacy I enjoy and I've decided to write it down so I can pull it off on my own. We've cooked it a couple of times in the past though, and I swear I had it written down on my notepad but my PC crashed unexpectedly 2 months ago. Not sure I still have it in there somewhere.

Sorry, what are we cooking, again?

Oh, I thought I'd mentioned it already. It's called Afang soup. It's an African dish that originated from Akwa Ibom state in Nigeria. It is eaten traditionally as a soup with cassava flour (Garri). A lot of eastern and southern Nigerians love this dish, so much that it's one of the most sought-after and respected traditional Garri and Soup meal in the country - do ask around-.

So, I'll start by listing out the necessary thing you'll need.

  • The Okasi leaf, which is, the livewire of the soup. This leaf gives the Afang soup its distinctive taste and smell. Gotta love it.
  • Palm Oil. Should be a good one.
  • Waterleaf. (not particularly sure what the english name is, but pretty much everyone in Nigeria know this leaf as Waterleaf). Get some!
  • Stock fish (locally called Akporoko), and grounded crayfish
  • Meat. Any kind. Traditionally, people prefer goat's meat or beef.
  • Perewinkle (deshelled or shelled). You could also throw in some snail.
  • Salt, fresh bell peppers, seasoning cubes, cray fish, and any other cool seasoning you might have.
  • Water.


Alright then. Let's do this 😊

  • Start by steaming your meat in a different pot first.
  • Add palm oil to another heated pot. Don't let the oil smoke for too long.
  • Add the Waterleaf, stir and cover. Open and stir again.
  • Add the meat stock plus the meat. Allow to heat for about 40 seconds to a minute.
  • Add the perewinkle, pepper, crayfish, salt, seasoning cubes (knorr is preferable).
  • Allow to boil for a while. Say, 2 minutes. Add water to your satisfaction. Be sure it's not too watery.
  • Finally, add the Okasi leaf and stir thoroughly. Lid it and allow to cook for at least 2 minutes. We don't want to have the Okasi tasting too raw.
  • Food is ready.
Sort:  

Congratulations @globinhoods! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75