You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Art of Preserving Apples Chapter 1: Apple Cider Vinegar (Recipes Included)

in #food6 years ago

We are going up on Friday to get apples in VT. Around here all the organic growers had crop failures. So we will be making cider this weekend, I think. And vinegar, more vinegar than cider, as I have 1 half gallon of vinegar left...

Sort:  

We seem to be on a similar schedule again! That's too bad about the crop failures. Our planted apple trees failed this year, hopefully they come back in spring. The late frost killed the blossoms so we got nothing at all. The wild trees are bursting though and there are also big bags of windfall apples from the farms for $12.

Wish I had access to such trees, that would be great!

When I first spotted them I could not believe it. I had no idea such a thing existed. Now I see they are everywhere, hundreds around here really. Mostly along the road sides. They apples are scabby and mishappen so it is more work to use them but once you scrub them and peel away and rough spots it makes a lot of lovely food.

Those are fine for cider and vinegar. Bit more work but the end product is great!

Exactly and they are organic and FREE! ♥ I really do think we we were meant to be neighbours. If if ever win the lottery (that I guess I should start to play).

"If I ever win the lottery (that I guess I should start to play)"

Yeah, same problem... :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62831.42
ETH 3123.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85