The pursuit of a decent eggs benedict continues in Da Nang

in #foodlast month

Many of my friends accuse me of being a fool for even attempting to find western delicacies in this medium-sized city in Vietnam. I kind of agree with them especially since all of the places, around a dozen or so, that I have attempted to get a decent eggs benny have been for the most part massive failures. I don't know what it is about this particular dish that the establishments here find so daunting but all of them are getting it wrong. I say this as someone who can barely cook spaghetti so I'm probably not a good one to judge. I did work in an even owned a restaurant at one point though and if there is one thing that I remember from both of these experiences, particularly the ownership one, it's that if you can't do something correctly, you are better off not even having it on the menu.


image.png

I will give the establishment this much though and that is that they did a great job with the presentation and didn't overcook the poached eggs so that much I can applaud. Some places are so incapable of making this dish that they boil the hell out of the eggs and ruin all the runniness and at that point, even if you nailed everything else you have ruined the entire meal.

I do not understand why they would put the bacon on the side either because its mean to be on the bread. I suppose it doesn't really matter though because I am capable of handling two kinds of food at once. The next problemo that I had with it is the inclusion of the tomatoes and the greens. They are not part of it and while I am thankful for the gift, they aren't supposed to be there. The greens were disgusting as well. The tomatoes tasted like tomatoes so no big deal there.

The biggest problem I had with this dish was that the hollandaise sauce was extremely watery and this suggests to me that they had a bottle of it that was made somewhere else or even worse, that it was some sort of powdered concoction and that they attempted to make more profit off of it by adding entirely too much water. In my mind hollandaise sauce should have a nearly gravy-like consistency, and this was not that at all.

When i finished it, and I did finish it because I was hungry, I was determined not just to not come back to this restaurant for this dish, but I decided to never come here for anything else either. Perhaps this is unfair on my part, but I am fickle like that. Of the dozen or so attempts and Eggs Benny that I have had in this city, this one was likely the worst one yet.

Perhaps I should listen to my friends' advice and just start to have Vietnamese breakfasts. There is this dish called Bo Ne that is basically steak and eggs served with a baguette and well, that sounds pretty nice now doesn't it?

The takeaway from all of this is that for both here and most other places I have been in Asia that your attempts and getting what you remember as being great from Europe or America is going to be, for the most part, disappointing over here and maybe you should just embrace the local food. They are going to be able to do that so much better and this is for obvious reasons.

Sort:  

⚠️[Warning!] Please remove your Post Auth from Worldofxpilar.com⚠️

There are reports that woxauto has been involved in suspicious activities.

We would like to bring to your attention an important matter regarding the misuse of voting power of worldofxpilar users.

It has come to our attention that they are continuesly engaged in stealing users' votes. It is causing a significant drop in users' voting power. We strongly advise you to revoke your posting authorization from "woxauto" (worldofxpilar.com) immediately to safeguard your voting rights.

Remove "woxauto" from your posting auth ASAP!

Or by

image2.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62991.27
ETH 3180.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82