Homemade Classic Vanilla Bean Cannoli (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

I hope I haven’t been overdoing it with the sweets lately. For some reason though, it’s just way more fun to make desserts. I got some ricotta at the grocery stores and it’s one of those ingredients that I don't keep on hand so I was really excited to use it. Making cannoli was actually my moms idea, but it’s been on my list of things to eventually try for a while now so I was perfectly willing to accept the challenge.

DSC_2545.jpg

I have to say that cannoli making, it’s not as hard as you might think, and definitely not as hard as I’ve always thought. One little thing though, you'll need to have cannoli molds to fry them on. I actually didn't have my own but I found a very similar tool in my cake decorating tools that worked for me instead. The downside was that most of my cannoli weren’t 100% symmetrical, but hey, my makeshift molds didn’t cost anything because I already had them so I’ll take the cheaper option any day. I bet there are other things you could use in place of cannoli molds, or maybe you received a set of them as a wedding gift or something. If not then there are some fairly inexpensive sets online that you can order, or it’s possible you have a friend who could lend you some.

DSC_2498.jpg

I seem to have chosen one of the worst possible times to make them though, because it seemed like the smell of frying oil called everyone in the house to the kitchen at the same time and I felt like I was protecting a fresh kill from a swarm of hungry vultures while trying to tell people that they weren’t ready for tasting yet. This happens way more often than I’d like and it makes me feel like such a meany. Wow, you’d think I’d have learned by now to time things better, but clearly I haven’t.

DSC_2544.jpg

Anyway, the key is not to fill them until just before serving so that the shells stay nice and crispy. If you want to make them ahead just store the filling in the fridge and the shells in an airtight container at room temp. Don’t hesitate to add extra chocolate or even dip the edges of the shells. I’m sure I want to dip them next time though, and there will definitely be a next time. You have to make them!

DSC_2572.jpg

So you can "leave the gun", but whatever you do......you HAVE TO "take the cannoli"! Clemenza had his priorities straight, well aside from being part of the mafia and shooting people and stuff….. K, so maybe that was the only good decision he ever made but at least he had one virtue.

DSC_2551.jpg

Please excuse me if you have no idea what talking about, but you guys know how bad I am about spontaneously inserting random movie references here and there. In my defence, I come by this one honestly because my mom has always been a fan of The Godfather movies.

DSC_2527.jpg

Okay, enjoy your cannoli!

DSC_2575.jpg

As always, the recipe is available upon request, and I always give an upvote for the first one.



Also, check out some of my other recent food posts for more mouthwatering photos!

  1. Simple Strawberry Turnovers using Fresh Strawberries (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT) & Finally 30,000 SP

  2. Coconut Milk, Mixed Berry, and Greek Yogurt Smoothie

  3. Melty Penne Pasta with Gouda, Ham, & Zucchini (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. MAYAN CHOCOLATE CHILI MOLTEN LAVA CAKES - Food Photo Shoot

  5. CHAI SPICED BANANA BREAD TOPPED with WHITE CHOCOLATE - Food Photo Shoot

  6. SOUTHERN STYLE CHICKEN AND DUMPLINGS

  7. Perfect Party Dip Idea - SAUSAGE CHEDDAR CHILI QUESO DIP - Food Photo Shoot

  8. GRINGA'S PUMPKIN JUICE SMOOTHIE - Food Photo Shoot

  9. PUMPKIN SPICED WHOOPIE PIES WITH KAHLÚA BUTTERCREAM - Food Photo Shoot

  10. BUTTERNUT SQUASH MAC & CHEESE CHICKEN PASTA

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

These look so good!!!!!
Thanks for sharing and would love to have the recipe for these amazing things.
Steem on :)

Loading...

Those who demand symmetrical cannoli will be demanding about many other things in life, too, I bet. Yours look great! You are getting good experience in crowd control, trying to keep your family from eating your creations before their time, lol.

Speaking of crowd control, I may get a gig at a nearby ski resort for the summer. I will post about that soon.

Wow! That's exciting! I look forward to reading about that and wish you all the best with that!

That gif is PERFECT! Thanks so much @rangertx!

Выглядит аппетитно, очень аппетитно.

These posts tend to pop up every time my stomach is craving for food. Nice timing 👌

Haha, I know how you feel @s3rg3. Thanks for the comment!

Oh looooord this looks so sweat !

Oh no now I'm hungry again. a masterpiece @gringalicious

Looks very appetizing!! I tried making a cannoli before, and let's just say, I'd rather be eating them haha

Haha, well that's totally fine but I'm glad you share my love for cannoli @jedau!

Something delicious is going to happen here. I wonder whats this food do the moment it enters into my mouth and face my sharp teeth. By the time I will pour the red wine as an indication of swallowing.

But the truth is I was just thinking how good is the taste of this food. :)

Hello @juvyjabian if you liked this post please check out my first food blog post. It would be greatly appreciated, thank you :)

Heard this name 'cannoli' for the first time. Looks yummy though! :)

Wow, first time, well then I'd definitely recommend giving them a try @nirmal!

Wow these look delicious I want to eat them now for breakfast haha!

I have upvoted you great post :)

Thanks so much for the comment and the upvote @laurenkavanagh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69428.61
ETH 3688.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.36