HannahHopsTheGlobe: A Taste of Southern Italy (Part Two - The Amalfi Coast)

in #food6 years ago

Hi Steemit friends! Welcome to my newest HannahHopsTheGlobe post. Part Two of my trip to Southern Italy post (please forgive the rather long delay, better late than never!). The focus of today: The Amalfi Coast! And if you haven’t seen it yet, be sure to check out Part One that focused on Sorrento and Naples here.


Beautiful Amalfi (More On This Below!)
a8.jpg

The chaos, frustration and beauty I had described during my time in Sorrento and Naples followed me throughout the rest of my trip. My travel partner and I opted to drive to different towns along the coast in order to get the most out of our time in the Amalfi Coast. As someone who is not a fan of heights and edges, the drive was not so relaxing. Winding along the edges of mountains, with locals zooming by at speeds that made my stomach turn, the stunning, almost indescribable views provided a welcome distraction from the feeling that at any moment we could fall off the edge of the cliff.

Driving Along the Amalfi Coast
a4.jpg

We spent one lovely afternoon in Positano, a splendidly vertical village that is what instagram dreams are made of. I had high expectations for Positano based on personal recommendations and my own research, and while it definitely delivered in the beauty department, it felt extremely touristy and everything was massively overpriced.

Positano
a5.jpg

Walking Down Stairs in Positano - Narrow and Steep!
posstairs.jpg

Despite the touristy vibe, I enjoyed a lovely lunch at Caffe Positano. Perched at a table high above the water, it was the perfect spot to enjoy some pasta and take in the views.

positano1.jpg

View from Caffe Positano (doesn't do it justice)
pos1.jpg

After visiting Positano, I continued on, passing through adorable villages and holding my breath at scary turns, until finally arriving in the town of Amalfi.

a9.jpg

a3.jpg

a10.jpg

I'll be honest. I had pretty low expectations for Amalfi. I had read it was the most touristy and stuffy but I found it quite the opposite. Beautiful, relaxed, unpretentious. Everything you would want it to be.

Amalfi
a7.jpg

View In The Town of Amalfi
a6.jpg

Walking along the winding, narrow streets, I stumbled upon a quaint, family owned restaurant, Il Teatro. Feasting on Parmiggiana di melanzane (not pictured), spinach ravioli, and the real star - the grilled fish of the day, sea bass. Simply grilled with salt and pepper with a bit of oil, lemon and parsley, and hands down one of the best fish I've ever had. A meal that made all worries fade away, and highlighted the beauty of the Amalfi Coast.

Ravioli & The Grilled Fish of the Day
pizzeria al teatro amalfi.jpg

Would I recommend a visit to the Amalfi Coast? Absolutely. The frustrations of getting around and figuring out how to avoid tourist traps are well worth it. The beauty of the landscape and the fresh, local cuisine are so worth seeing (and of course tasting)!

views.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this post! Keep an eye out for my next post about another beautiful and delicious destination!


divider-1024.png

Previous HannahHopsTheGlobe Posts


HannahHopsTheGlobe: A Taste of Southern Italy (Part One - Sorrento and Naples)
HannahHopsTheGlobe: Visiting Milan, Italy
HannahHopsTheGlobe: The Charming Swiss Village Gandria (With Photographs)
HannahHopsTheGlobe: Visiting Zurich, Switzerland (With Photographs)
HannahHopsTheGlobe: Travel Photography - A Snapshot of Israel
HannahHopsTheGlobe: Fantastic Finds - Restaurants in Miami That Are Not To Be Missed!
HannahHopsTheGlobe: Tasting Wine in Mendoza, Argentina (Part One)
HannahHopsTheGlobe: Tasting Wine in Mendoza, Argentina (Part Two)
HannahHopsTheGlobe: Dining in Brussels, Belgium

Sort:  

Great shots as always! Does seem like it's been a while but glad to hear from you again.
I especially love that beach shot with the green and yellow umbrellas.

Thanks! It has been awhile. I'm hoping to have more time to post in the coming months!

Stunning photographs @hannahlaurel. The Amalfi coast is on my list of places to visit. In fact, there's a lot of Italy i'm itching to see. 😊

Thank you! I hope you make it there soon.

Amazing Nature View and Food on Southern Italy.

very good post, I motivate you to continue like this, I follow you and I invite you to follow me too, here I leave my last post
https://steemit.com/travel/@misc.jocs/a-weekend-different-from-others

Loading...

Hai @hannahlaurel I like your post and your blog, If I have time can I review your blog but In Indonesia language. Thank you

Congratulations @hannahlaurel! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @hannahlaurel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70191.58
ETH 3817.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78