Cinnamon Rolls | A Favorite Recipe

in #food6 years ago

Homemade Cinnamon Rolls

a   f a v o r i t e   r e c i p e


IMG_20180523_113302.jpg

A fresh pan of rolls, ready for frosting!

There has been much excitement at our house since two of my brothers are coming for a quick visit. They arrive tonight so today was dedicated to a cleaning and baking frenzy.

The way to the hearts of the men in my family is through the stomach, so I started out the morning with a batch of cinnamon rolls.

I've been making cinnamon rolls for as long as I can remember. I like this particular recipe because the dough can be used either for cinnamon rolls or doughnuts. It also yields a smaller batch than my other recipes, which is a good thing for our small family.

I listed the recipe below, but make sure to scroll through the photos with specific notes on each step to get a better idea of how to make these yourself!

Cinnamon Rolls or Doughnuts

  • 1 1/2 Cup hot water
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoon yeast
  • 1/2 Cup milk
  • 1/2 Cup sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 Teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 Cup melted butter
  • 5 - 5 1/2 Cups flour

Stir the first four ingredients together and let set in warm place for about 1/2 hour or until the mixture is full of bubbles. Next, add the remaining ingredients and let rise one hour or until doubled. Roll into a rectangle. Spread with melted butter, sprinkle with brown sugar and top with cinnamon. Roll the dough and cut into rolls. Put in pans and let rise another hour. Bake at 350 degrees for twenty minutes.

IMG_20180523_083447.jpg

The dough, rolled into a ball and ready to rise.

IMG_20180523_092841.jpg

I roll the dough into a thin rectangle as the first step making the rolls.

IMG_20180523_093142.jpg

Next, cover the surface of the dough with melted butter.

IMG_20180523_093534.jpg

After the butter, generously cover the dough with brown sugar.

IMG_20180523_093639.jpg

Next, sprinkle cinnamon on top.

IMG_20180523_093830.jpg

Start rolling from the outside edge being careful to keep the roll tight and even.

IMG_20180523_093703.jpg

Continue rolling making sure the size of the roll stays consistent.

IMG_20180523_093818.jpg

Looking good!

IMG_20180523_094003.jpg

After the roll is complete slice them with a serrated knife. I slice them just over an inch thick, but the important part is to keep them the same thickness so they bake evenly.

IMG_20180523_094433.jpg

A roll ready to place in the pan. When your roll is nice and snug the cinnamon and sugar won't fall out when you lift them to put them in the pans.

IMG_20180523_094700.jpg

Place them in the pan and leave them to rise.

IMG_20180523_111014.jpg

An hour later they are ready to go in the oven.

IMG_20180523_111124.jpg

After baking for twenty minutes the rolls are ready to come out of the oven and cool.

IMG_20180523_123250.jpg

My brothers' favorite frosting is butter cream so that is what I went with today. Although, I often do a caramel or maple frosting as well.

IMG_20180523_123407.jpg

Warm and just out of the oven. Ready to eat!

IMG_20180523_123414.jpg

The girls and I did an extensive taste test and approved.


I hope you enjoyed this post, and find time to make your own batch of cinnamon rolls. If you do get the chance, let us know how they turned out in the comments below! Stay tuned for more and thanks so much for reading!

Sort:  

Mmmmm looks delicious!!!! I’m half Finnish and grew up eating/baking korvapuusti (basically the same but rolled a different way!). I want to try them with spelt flour as I can’t have wheat now :) yum

I'll have to look those up, sounds good. I've tried rolling up my cinnamon rolls different ways to be more creative, but so far I haven't found a winning method.

Hey, that really looks delicious. I am a hobby baker myself and I would suggest folding the dough for several times and let it rest between the folding instances. That makes it kind of more puffy and the air enclosures get a little bigger and the dough in general becomes a little smoother with more layers added. I use the same technique for croissants.
Happy baking

Yes I do that occasionally, just not the days when I'm on a tight schedule! I've never made croissants, but I should try one of these days.

Hi homespun,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

wipes drool from mouth ... well, those look delicious and I now know what I will be making tomorrow! Amazing photos and I love seeing all the steps. Thanks for sharing this! ❤️

I hope they turn out great for you!

It's funny how much I hate anything with cinnamon but yet I drink it with honey+vinegar to have a glowing skin and maintain my body weight.
I'm sure those cinnamon rolls taste nice.

After all the cinnamon rolls I've eaten in the last few hours my face must really be glowing! :)

I can't wait to dip one of these into my coffee in the morning! :)

I noticed there aren't many left in the pan, I'm wondering how many you dipped into your coffees this morning?

Only two, I promise! 🐵

Congratulations @homespun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-25T05:20:24
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 45.50/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Que bonito es recibir a la familia con ese detalle tan rico. Gracias por compartir.

Llegaron muy contentos por los rollitos de canela 😊

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55