Homemade Roasted Tomato and Pumpkin Soup

in #food6 years ago (edited)

pumpkin soup 4.jpg

"Eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince, and dinner like a pauper"?

Source

Starting this week, me and my partner have been trying to change our dinner menu. We've been trying to alternate our normal dinner with soup every other day. The main reason why we're doing this is because we want to stay healthy. Besides that, my partner often doesn't have a good sleep after having a heavy meal for dinner. So, we really wanted to change our habit. At the beginning, we dont want to do it everyday, we'll see how it goes on the first month that's why we alternate the days. If you want to know more about the benefits of having light dinner, you may check it here.

IMG_20180110_111905_674.jpg

I made a weekly plan so I know what vegetables I have to buy. I had fun doing groceries for the soups. I went to my favorite organic shop not far from my house where I can buy a lot of things in bulk. This year, I am trying to do more waste reducing, I cant say zero waste because to be honest, going zero waste is hard for me. It felt good when I brought my own containers and saw no plastic at all in my groceries. It cost me more though when I buy in bulk (organic stuffs). In normal supermarket, organic stuffs are less expensive but you have to buy in a package. They also wrap most of things in plastic. I'm trying to avoid single use plastic. Our planet has suffered a lot from that. I dont want to sound like a hippy freak, but this has became a big issue and we have to do something about that.

Anyway, this time I wanted to share with you one of my soups that we had this week. It's so good and super light. You might want to add some croutons if you want it to be more filling.

pumpkin soup 6.jpg


Roasted Tomato and Pumpkin Soup

Ingredients

  • 6 Roma tomatoes
  • 1 medium sugar pumpkin
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 1 liter water
  • 2 cubes veggie stock

To serve

  • olive oil
  • crushed blackpepper
  • fresh basil leaves

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 200°C, line 2 baking trays with silicone baking mat or aluminum foil, set aside.
  • Slice off the top of the pumpkin, lay it upside down and cut it in half. Scoop the seeds out. Dont throw the seeds out, you may bake it and have it for snack time or for another use. Put it in a baking tray skin side up. Set aside.
  • Slice the tomatoes into halves and place it in the second baking tray.
  • Put the tomatoes tray on the lowest rack and the one with pumpkin on top of it. Bake for 40 minutes.
  • In a small pan, heat one tablespoon of olive oil and stir fry onion, garlic and thyme for about two minutes. Set aside.
  • In a big pot or casserole dish, warm up the water with the veggie stock.
  • After 40 minutes roasting, pull off the skin of the pumpkin flesh. Cut the pumpkin flesh into big chunks. Throw the chunks into a food processor and pulse until smooth. Transfer into the pot.
  • Using the same food processor bowl, blend roasted tomatoes with stir-fried onion, garlic and thyme. Transfer into the pot.
  • Simmer the mixture in the pot for about 10 minutes. I didn't add any seasoning, there's enough salt in the veggie stock.
  • For serving: drizzle with olive oil, crushed blackpepper and fresh basil leaves.

pumpkin soup 5.jpg

That's it for today. thank you for reading and I'm wishing you a lovely week end.

Cheers,
signature-fonts

All content and images are mine and original. All pictures were taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000.

Sort:  

Delicious food & beautiful photos!

Thank you! :-)

Hi my dear! Wow! I love the soup, especially when i put the pumpkin, it give a good flavor on it, me personally i add cheese when finish blender the vegetables, it give a nice taste. Well done my dear.

OMG cheese! We would love to add some cheese that but we cant stop once we start putting cheese in our soup. That's why I didn't add any cheese or cream into the soup. It tastes delicious indeed and adds some creaminess. Yummy!

AJ picked your post @ikaputri3 for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Thank you for featuring my article in your post. Much appreciated.

Nice food love that

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 15:48:46
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 351.58/400.00
Total Photos: 27
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 0.32 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

yum, delicious! glad to nominate this for ocd-resteem :)

Million thanks @jznsamuel for nominating me :-)

Those are gorgeous food photos. Love that soup idea. The next soup on my menu is white bean minestrone.

Thank you! White bean minestrone is a good idea. I'll check the recipe and put on my list. Thanks for the idea :-)

You're welcome. Looking forward to more great recipe ideas from you.

waoowwww !! yummmmmyy .. i think it is too much delicious <3 and what a clicks from your Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 <3 you made my day man <3... keep in touch i wanna see more in future like this

Great recipe. The pictures and presentation was exquisite. Well done. It would be nice if Steemit had a way of storing recipes for future reference. This ones a keeper.

Thank you for your kind words. Agree with you, tool for bookmarking any post would be great.

Waw! It's look so yummy. I get hungry now :D. .....Nice photos and nice article Ms.@ikaputri3. Warm regard from me, @adrienoor from Bandung. Nice to know you ....

It's midnight now in Indonesia. You have to wait til morning if you want to eat some :-D Thank you for passing by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56