Mushroom Risotto - Vegetarian

in #food6 years ago

risotto 1.jpg

Some time ago, we received a bottle of white wine from my mother in law. My partner opened it and drank it a bit but then he couldn't finish it all. Of course, it'd take some time to finish it by himself otherwise he would have got drunk. I dont really drink alcohol, glass of wine is enough for me, so I cant be any help. But then I realized that I can cook with it so I chose to make risotto, one of the famous and delicious Italian dishes. I've been wanting to make risotto but I really dont want to open a bottle of wine just to use a little bit. This has been the reason why I never try to cook risotto by myself yet I'm a big fan of risotto.

This was my first time making risotto and I could say that I did a good job. The taste was good and my partner also approved it. The original recipe is from here. I rewrote it below for you with the measurement by weight. It's useful for those who dont have measuring cups :-)

risotto 3.jpg


Mushroom Risotto

Yield: 4-5 portions

Ingredients

  • 1.5 liters vegetable broth
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 shallots, finely chopped
  • 125 ml dry white wine
  • 300 gr arborio rice
  • 200 gr portobello mushroom, cut into chunks
  • 250 gr button mushroom, cut into chunks
  • 2 chives, chopped
  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter
  • Parmiggiano Regiano - Parmesan cheese, to sprinkle
  • parsley (optional), to sprinkle

Directions

  • In a sauce pan, warm up the vegetable broth, set aside.
  • In a pan, stir-fry the mushrooms until they turn soft. Discard the juice and set aside.
  • In a casserole dish, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat and stir-fry the shallot until fragrant. Add in the rice, stir until all the rice are coated with oil. Continue cooking until the rice turn slightly golden brown.
  • Pour in the white wine, cook until the rice absorb all the whine then add in the vegetable broth 1/2 cup at a time, continue cooking for about +/- 20 minutes or until the rice turn al dente.
  • Remove the casserole from the heat, add in the cooked mushrooms, chopped chives and unsalted butter, mix well.
  • Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and parsley to your taste.

risotto 4.jpg


At the beginning, I thought it would be enough for my partner and I but this recipe is actually enough for 4-5 persons. It was too much for us. That's okay. That means I dont need to cook tomorrow. I dont mind to eat risotto again because it's delicious, like the Italian says: che buono, which means yummy. If you haven't tried risotto before, I recommend you to make this at home and try this recipe. I am sure you will like it ;-)

risotto 2.jpg

Thank you for reading. Have a nice week end!

Cheers,
signature-fonts

All content and images are mine and original. Pictures were taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 00:53:57
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 280.27/400.00
Total Photos: 22
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Looks delecious 😍

Thank you. It's indeed delicious :-)

It's indeed delicious. Thank you :-)

looks tasty!! Im going to have to try this.

Yes please, try this! I'm sure you will like it ;-)

I️ bet white wine will go well with it too 😉

Yes, it goes perfectly with white wine too :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68960.63
ETH 3748.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68