For the Love of Mugs.....

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I didn't always drink coffee, so for the part of my life that I didn't, I didn't need many mugs. Of course there were a couple for the occasional winter hot chocolate or the such. When I did start drinking coffee and hot tea, I slowly accumulated more mugs over time and found that I preferred some types over others. I'm not so crazy about heavy mugs, but prefer something medium to lightweight.

The one I reach for first most of the time is this tall, slender Latte Macchiato cup. I found it in Tuesday Morning one time. I shared one with my Mom and it became her favorite as well.

20180909_102752.jpg

Then there is this McCoy Mug. I like pottery things and this one is so classic.

McCoy 2.jpg

I found this mug in a consignment store. It has Olive Branch carved into the bottom of it. I loved that it was purple and that the thick glaze looked a little drippy at the bottom.

Olive branch.jpg

I also have this fun little one. My Mom gave it to me. I believe it may have been given to her in some sort of Hershey's Chocolate gift set. It appears to have chocolate permanently dripping down the sides.

20180915_093742.jpg

The following mugs I don't use for coffee or tea. I found my first Chantal Cappuccino Mug at Tuesday Morning as well. I loved it's creamy smooth surface and it's shape.

After buying it though and using it a few times, I found that it was not really suited for my "slow sipping" style of coffee drinking, as they allow too much open coffee surface with their wide tops that caused the coffee to cool off too fast. Who knew? For the longest time the 2 I had floated around in the back of the cabinet unused. One day though, for some unknown reason, I reached for one when needing a small bowl. Since I normally don't eat at my dining table and am either at my computer or in front of the TV, I found it so convenient to be able to hold it by it's handle while eating some of.... .whatever. I quickly found that I really loved it for that and later decided I needed more. I found they had been discontinued, so the rest I acquired by ebay, checking for them now and then and finally finding some fun colors. Now I use them frequently for bowls.

cappuccino.jpg

I know they make soup mugs with handles, but the ones I have seen are big and heavy most of the times and not that convenient for actually holding while eating, once they are full of .... .whatever. :)

Last weekend I found this one and a purple one like it that I loved, but that once again were too large for coffee. I didn't have to resist them though, because I knew they were really just bowls with handles.

20180914_135240-1.jpg

Do you have a favorite mug? If so, feel free to share a photo of it in your comment.

Hope you are doing well.

Love you,

Jacey

Surround yourself with things you love

Sort:  

I like you mug collection. I also have a thing for mugs. Once in a while I buy a new one. This is one of my favorites so far. Its the carpet design of the hotel in the classic movie 'The Shining'.

It made me laugh to read it was the carpet design in the movie "The Shining". At my very first glance, (before I read) I was thinking somewhat of a honeycomb design, only red. I like it ! Thank you for commenting and showing your mug. I appreciate it.

The design is definitely inspired by honeycomb, so that was good thinking!

Very nice collection you have there! Amugizing :)

Amugizing ! ha ha.... I like it ! Thank you, this is not all of the mugs I have, but I thought they were the most interesting and I figured my post shouldn't be a mile long. :) Thanks for coming over and for your comment. I appreciate it.

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.
If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thank you ! I'm honored.

Love your mugs! I completely understand about having a. For me it is all about the shape of a handle. I like the way my fingers fit in through the handle and my thumb rests on top perfectly. I've used this one for years and can't imagine starting my morning without it. image

I love your mug ! OH... the handle feel, that really does make a difference. Thanks for taking the time to show me your mug. I appreciate it.

Excellent article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99