Garlic & Herb Whole Roasted Cauliflower ....

in #food5 years ago (edited)

cover.jpg

I like cauliflower. I like it raw dipped in ranch dip and cut up in salads, but until the Broccoli Caulifower Roast I posted before, I don't remember ever cooking any.

I saw this simple recipe for roasting the whole cauliflower head on Pinterest. It looked easy so I decided to try it. The recipe will be at the bottom.

Below is a photo after it was roasted, but before some shredded parmesan cheese was added and broiled.

1 after roasting before cheese.jpg

After it finished roasting, I put some shredded parmesan cheese on the top and put it under the broiler for a very few minutes to crisp it a little and melt the cheese.

2 after cheese broil.jpg

Afterwards I cut a wedge out to try it.

3 wedge.jpg

It was pretty decent if you like cauliflower already..... and since I do......

4 serving.jpg

It was a little different and pleasant and I'll probably do it again sometime.

9 ingredients

1 head Cauliflower (medium sized)

2 cloves Garlic (crushed)

Parsley, fresh, finely chopped (I didn't use this because I didn't have any and because I think parsley has no flavor so I didn't think it would add anything) ha

1 tsp Italian seasonings

1/4 tsp Pepper

1/2 tsp Salt

2 tbsp Olive oil

2 tbsp Butter

2 tbsp Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cut and remove the leaves from the head of cauliflower.

In a small bowl whisk together the butter, oil, salt, pepper, seasonings, and crushed garlic.

Place cauliflower head in a dutch oven or in a baking dish and completely coat it with the seasoning mix.

Cover cauliflower head with aluminum foil and cook in preheated oven for 30 minutes. Remove foil and cook for an additional 10 minutes. (I just put it in my casserole dish that has a lid)

After.....

Sprinkle Parmesan cheese all over the head of cauliflower and turn the oven to a high broil. Broil for 3-5 minutes or until cheese begins to turn a golden brown.

Serve with fresh parsley (optional) and enjoy!

Hope you are all doing well.

Love you !

Jacey

Tonight I am going to roast mushrooms. I've never cooked any before, we'll see

Sort:  

I to love cauliflower and I may have to try this as well

!trdo

Congratulations @tattoodjay, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @jacey.boldart!
@jacey.boldart got 6 TRDO & @tattoodjay got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Gotta love the easy dishes !

Since it is just me and I had plenty of leftovers, I used some of it in my lunches a couple of days this week. It's always a plus to have something healthy at hand to add in here and there. I know I will do this again. Maybe experiment with different herbs, but haven't studied on what that might be. Time will tell !

I may do the same my wife has limited herbs she can have so will try it tomorrow with a combination that works for her

Sounds like a plan !

I have made my shopping list already :)

It sure looks good. You were just about at the ready to smash for mashers lol. Good shots!

It didn't need smashing ! LOL

Thanks !

I love cauliflower! This sounds delicious!

I wasn't sure I would like it soft, but I have enjoyed it. Of course you could use other herbs if you like some others better.

Hope you are doing well.

Recovering from a fall took last week, but that is just part of living with MS. I added cauliflower to my grocery list!

Oh No ! Hope your recovery is a quick one !

I'm trying to eat more veggies. I like them, I always have, but I get tired of them the same old ways, so I've been surfing for simple recipes that I have not tried before. I don't remember having any cauliflower when I was growing up and only later probably ended up trying it when on a raw veggie tray with dip. I have eaten it many times, but always raw, till I had some on the Brocc/Caulf roast my sister served at supper one night. Loved that so much that I have made it several times since.

Today I will be baking some onion halves in beef stock in the oven and when they are done, topping them with some swish cheese and maybe a little sage to broil for a few minutes. It is kind of like a lazy girl onion soup'ish type thing, without making the soup. We'll see how that goes. :)

I do love veggies, but have always boiled cauliflower and eaten it with butter and salt, like my mom made it. I love roasted veggies, but have not tried roasting cauliflower. Looking forward to it!

Maybe I will try it boiled and buttered with salt next. Do you boil it whole, cut it up small or med? Do you mash it or just drain it and add salt and butter after done?

I just cut it into bite size pieces and boil it so it is still tender crisp. It doesn't take long. My mom boiled it to mush. My daughter-in-law often cooks cauliflower and broccoli with potatoes and mashes them all together because that's the way her mom made mashed potatoes in Russia.

Funny how broccoli doesn't sound good to me in mashed potatoes.... ha ha.... but there is nothing ever like Mother's cooking..... ever...... if you were lucky enough to have a cooking Mom...... and I did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71