Penang Style Breakfast – Lim Mee Yoke Restaurant

in #food6 years ago

I miraculously woke up earlier than usual today and felt a sudden pang of hunger and craving for Penang food. It has been a long time since I last returned to my hometown considering it takes a 4-hour drive to get there IF traffic was not bad. It became nearly impossible to return with my career barely kicking off and the tendency for people to return to their hometowns on weekends so, traffic is guaranteed horrible. Fortunately, there are still a handful of authentic Penang food restaurants owned by folks from Penang who have settled down in Kuala Lumpur.
My significant other (SO) stays in Petaling Jaya, which apparently is where most Penang restaurant owners tend to do business (how unfair!), so my SO was the tour guide of the day. My SO recommended Lim Mee Yoke Restaurant located not far from my SO’s home. I agreed to give it a try since I was already starving and could not afford to waste time spent on travelling further. Parking in the area is pretty limited considering the amount of restaurants there. You had to be really lucky to get one.
The restaurant was packed when we arrived, but luckily there were still a few tables available. The interior design is that of a typical Chinese style restaurant you see on television, with marble tables and wooden chairs. Their menu is pretty limited to a few Penang style food, and I let my SO decide on the order since my SO was a regular. It seems they started out from a small hawker stall to the big restaurant they had today, which explains why their menu lacked variety. However, it seemed more than enough to keep the business going. The food arrived pretty quickly and the portion is okay if you are a medium-sized eater.
First came the RM7 Prawn Mee.


The broth was the clear type, which fit the Penang style category unlike the usual Prawn Mee with more santan you find in Kuala Lumpur. The prawns and chicken slices were disappointingly small and few. However, I did appreciate the amount of fried onions they provided. The taste was just so-so and it made it hard to believe that this was a famous Prawn Mee restaurant. Thankfully, my SO also ordered a Chee Cheong Fun costing RM3.50.


The portion matched its price well. I loved how the sauce was just the perfect combination of salty and sweet that left a lingering taste in your mouth after each bite. The rice noodle roll was smooth and thin which further enriched the taste of the dish as a whole. All in all, this restaurant is just a 5/10 for me, mostly saved by the Chee Cheong Fun.
If you’re in the mood for Penang food, these details will be of use to you:-
Address: 14, Jalan SS 2/10, Taman Paramount
Hours:
Weekday: 10:30AM–6PM
Weekend: 10:30AM–4:30PM
Phone: 016-608 9060

Posted from my blog with SteemPress

Sort:  

My hometown's at Penang too...ever since I started studying in KL I began appreciating every single dish at Penang. I'm craving for good Prawn Mee REEEEEE.

Last time I just ordered Hokkien Mee at KL without knowing that it has a different meaning here compared to Penang and you know what happened...haha.

The best hokkien Mee wil lalways be from Penang ! hahaha

Congratulations @jasonljw! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Your post has been manually curated by littlenewthings

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62668.08
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58