You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beyond Organic. Can we grow plants designed specifically for us, paired with our DNA? Maybe we can. Here's how!

in #food7 years ago

I probably do some of these without thinking but I'll try it with more intention from now on. I have a deep connection with plants and deepening it with practices like these well, I can't imagine what kind of conversations I'll be able to have with them then ( :

Sort:  

Fantastic :)

It's amazing how many worlds within our world there is! Only slightly disappointed it has taken me this long to realize. But, such is the journey of life :)

I would love to hear if this practice improves your relationship! What is it that you do (I realizing trying to quantify the qualitative may be difficult), that helps bring a close relationship now? Any thoughts?

I just talk to them like their my friends, not always out loud. Many I started from seed so we know each other pretty well. I know how old they are, how beautiful their flowers were last year or the year before, and where I may have transplanted them from. Some of them are pretty dramatic, others are low key, some are extremely narcissistic and others just want to help. I can't tell you how I know these things, I just visit them daily and recognize their changes. I read once that a gardeners shadow is the best fertilizer and I agree whole heartedly. I touch most of my plants in the garden at least weekly, more for some. And some stay for only a short time. I find that many have a spot in the yard that they love and I have to continue transplanting them until they are satisfied ( :
I think it's consistency of communication that really gets things on a strong relationship level with plants. Sometimes they'll even call out to you for help or to let you know that they can help you.

A million times yes!! I feel exactly the same way! Thank you for sharing this :) I realized I wasn't crazy, but hearing someone else say what I have thought before helps rationalize it at least!

I'd never really said it out loud before so thanks for asking about it. It makes me more confident that I really do know how to communicate with the plants. It's just like a friendship, I treat it a lot more ordinary than sacred, like you would a close friend instead of a priest you hardly know. I've had some friends that think it's really uncouth of me to do it that way without making offerings to them regularly but I've always felt that they've never asked for that from me.

"like you would a close friend instead of a priest you hardly know. " YES! Absolutely. I like to look at it how I would want to be addressed as well and what would bring me happiness and joy. To only be related to with the distancing of 'pious respectfulness' would be a pretty lonely existence. This is my approach to communicating with source, as I would a dear friend.

How awkward would it be if your friends regularly (or ever) made offerings to you in that manner? I believe gifts, are always appreciated. However, gifts are different than offerings as they are never expected :)

I'm so glad we're on the same page with this! ( :

So are the plants :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69590.59
ETH 3887.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73