Oysters & Venison fun @ Haute Cabrière - Franschoek, Cape Town - South Africa

in #food6 years ago

oysters cropped.jpg

In the spirit of breaking the norm and generating inspiration we decided to hit the road to Franschoek today. The wind was rather fresh this morning, so I left the house in my hoodie and bootie slippers lol - and DAMN did I regret it! (As a thoroughbred Capetonian, I should have known better, but alas... hahaha)

20180411_113258.jpg

Anyhoooo.... off we went!
And we ended up at the most unique spot.

Welcome to

Haute Cabrière

......

20180411_113523.jpg

20180411_113606.jpg

The farm dates back to 22 December 1694 when the French Huguenot Pierre Jourdan was granted a piece of land in Olifantshoek, today known as Franschhoek, which he decided to name after his home town Cabrière.
Source

The views from this place are simply mind blowing!!!
(not unlike MOST places in the Western Cape)

20180411_113819.jpg

20180411_113851.jpg

20180411_114405.jpg

I was informed prior to arrival,
that the venue itself is like a hobbit house
and that was not a word of a lie! lol

The entire venue is pretty much "underground"
which is precisely what makes is so wonderfully unique!

It was a pretty long drive there,
as we encountered roadworks along the way,
so needless to say - I was all too ready to head to the ladies,

but was NOT expecting what I encountered
en route there...

20180411_114436.jpg

yeeeah... that was the spiral staircase to the ladies... hahaha

and this was my "before" face....
hahaha!!!
whether it was the "I don't want to meet any headless horsemen face"
or the
"I really need to pee face"
I am not sure... lol

20180411_114721.jpg

Either way -
this was the "after" face hahahaha!!!

20180411_114538.jpg

It must have been the pee face lol!!!

Moving along swiftly,

Heading up the headless horseman stairwell,
I could not help but get lost a little bit...
(as I do)
and take some photos...

20180411_131926.jpg

20180411_131956.jpg

20180411_132018.jpg

20180411_131918.jpg

20180411_132037.jpg

The inside of the restaurant
really is like something out of The Hobbit
and I could imagine, that it would be absolutely fabulous
to sit inside there on a typical Cape Town Winters day,
but I am most definitely more of a sunshine and fresh air
kinda gal, so if there is even a little sunshine,
I am outside.... NO DOUBT!

So THIS, was our table...

20180411_114320.jpg

201804115712487354763914320.jpg

20180411_121255.jpg

and now that we had a table,
and I had finished getting lost and taking photos,

it was time for... yip - WINE!
sheesh, you guys know me well hey!

hahahaha!!!

And I must just say that I think I have officially found
my new favourite wine!

Anyone who knows me well,
will know that I LOVE RED wine,
and my best in that department is a Pinot Noir

but on a hot day I will gladly drink a Rosé,

TODAY,

I met the love of my life! haha!
It was apparently a
New kid on their block
and is a Pinot Noir, which is served chilled,
and although a red wine,
is lighter and treated as a white wine!

Liiike Heeellooooo Nuuurse!!!
I was in HEAVEN!

20180411_120852.jpg

Dave opted for bubbles,
which although I tasted and they were great,
I generally avoid,
because they are headache material,
no matter how little I drink. lol

20180411_120752.jpg

and with that out of the way, it was time to scout the menu!
It was the choice of a two or three course meal.

I generally opt for the starter and main in this instance,
and Dave for the main and dessert.

And they had oysters on the menu as a starter,
so it was a total no brainer!!!

They were HONESTLY the BEST oysters
I have had in a long time!

There were six oysters,
served two ways...

Sauce mignonette / lime chilli and papaya salsa

20180411_121541.jpg

20180411_121548.jpg

They were absolutely DIVINE!!!!

Dave went for the sirloin as a main,

Chalmar Beef Sirloin
Mushroom ragout, nettle puree, pommes anna, black pepper and brandy sauce

20180411_124350_003.jpg

I opted for the
Venison Loin
Charcoal grilled, port and truffle sauce, blue cheese and smoky onion tart, tenderstem broccoli.

.... oh and yes... RARE
(as it should be)

20180411_125703.jpg

20180411_125612.jpg

We both tried a little of each others,
and I have to say...
WOW!

They were both magnificent!!!

I am a HUGE fan of the fig and blue cheese combo,
and coupled with a rare piece of meat....
YUM!!!

For dessert, it was

Chocolate Mousse Torte
Amaretti crumbs, candied pecan nuts

and that too,
was simply out of this world!!!

20180411_132138.jpg

There is nothing better than visiting a
fine dining establishment
when looking for a little food prep inspiration,
and I definitely got my fill today!

And with that said and done,
it was time for a photo...
I mean that frame had been staring me in the face
for like three hours ok!! hahaha!

***Cheeeeese!****

NEW ME.png

Time was running a little short,
as we had to get home to fetch Jude from cricket practice,
and to relieve the domestic.

And these are some of the
"homeward bound shots"
hahahaha!!!

This smile, my international darlings...
is called a
PASSION GAP
hehehehe!!!

He was selling oranges at the robots.

20180411_143143.jpg

This chap, was not quite as enthusiastic to smile
for the camera unless I gave him R2 lol

20180411_143052.jpg

and then...

the CLASSY ROAD
three mercs and Jag.

Now thats a WHOLE lot of sexiness in one spot!
Excluding that ugly bakkie (truck) in the background! lol

20180411_141644.jpg

It was a FUN DAY INDEED!!!!
And it is trips like this that remind me
of just how BLESSED we are
to live in such an AMAZING place!!!

Cape Town RULES!!!!!

20180411_142259.jpg

……

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE #STEEMITBLOGGERS

Steemit Bloggers

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Follow our AMAZING community of QUALITY bloggers @steemitbloggers

……

If you are a PASSIONATE foodie then why not take part
in my ongoing cooking challenge...


This challenge is open to EVERYONE
(Boys and girls, Young and old)
whether you consider yourself a professional,
novice or complete disaster in the kitchen!
You can scout for one of my latest announcements
by searching the "new" feed for the below tag

#whatscookingchallenge

……

Do you write positive, motivational or inspiring content?
Want it given a little more attention?
Then why not support...

header.jpg

@theluvbug is all about spreading the STEEMIT LOVE
with upvotes and resteems of
INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content.
Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

Sort:  

@jaynie, this is a great walk! Everything looks amazing:)... and nature, and weather, and oysters. You really live in a beautiful place. Your photos convey the atmosphere of this little adventure. Sometimes it really is necessary so spur of the moment to go to some nice place. Very cozy restaurant. This smiling guy certainly looks very epic. I was laughing. Thank you for sharing :)

hehehe thanks @madlenfox - yes he was a very amusing looking character LOL! It was a wonderful day all round and I agree - we do have to "take time out" every now and then. Thank you for your lovely comment xxx

I wish you a good day :)

@jaynie... I love the fact that it is built under ground structure. I can really say from the images that those food got me salivating. I can see @jaynie also looking beautiful and enjoying the self at the restaurant. I am really impressed by your research and works concerning things like this. You explained it such that it's very easy to understand. Nice work @jaynie

Thank you for the lovely feedback @hardaeborla

It's my pleasure

AJ picked your post @jaynie for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Thank you very much

I must consider wine more often, is that you are so pretty that maybe the wine has it like this ) everything looks exquisite, I wish you a beautiful day

Wine fixes everything hahahaha ;)

Amazing trip! Wonderful photos! Thank you for sharing your day with us. The meal looked awesome! I always love to see food displayed as a work of art with such color and balance!

I have to agree @rwedegis. I love seeing what different chefs come up with in terms of creativity on a plate.

Looks great! Papaya and Oyster... sounds really cool. I love one dish with Tuna and a Mango Salsa (Will post that shortly I guess). I think that the prices for the dishes would have been interesting. I have no idea how expensive or cheap this meal would be in South Africa. Best wishes from Germany.

That sounds delicious @nils1990.

As for the prices, well it was a "fine dining establishment" on a wine estate - so not cheap, but considering what you get in terms of food, experience and views - it wasn't bad at all. A two course meal was R290.00

That is really nice. It is like 20 Euros for 2 course meal! Awesome

yeah my boet is in London and whenever they come out here, thet go on about how CHEAP it is to eat out here compared to where they are.... but for US, its pretty costly.

Yeah, I am travelling to Porto next week. It should be really cheap there... means much to eat for me haha

oh awesome!!! Well happy travels @nils1990 and be sure to take plenty of pics to share :)

Untill my girlfriend is annoyed haha

LOL!!! It is normally the other way around haha ;)

White wine and oysters are the best! Jaynie the foodie in action! Every day, seeing your food hunting posts make me extremely hungry. Guess you had a blast. Keep food exploring~~ :D

It was indeed a wonderful day out @explorernations - thank you :)

WWow wow wow nice view. Nice pics and the fooooooood :D

Yes they were all indeed spectacular @jacinta.sevilla :)

I love this 😍 it makes me so home sick! Gosh that smile! It's amazing what R2 can get you 🤣

hahahaha true story @kimmiecfields!!

@kimmiecfields took me there when we visited SA! It was magical!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68