Making Candied Ginger With Maple Syrup

in #food5 years ago

When I went to the farmer's market, I found out that ginger root was on sale so I bought a lot because I was out. I use fresh ginger root in a lot of recipes on a regular basis, but I wanted to make some candied ginger.

ykjejcplr1.jpg

When I went to Malaga, Spain in March, I bought some candied ginger that was made without sugar. I looked up several recipes and found that candied ginger can be made with honey, maple syrup and sugar substitutes. I chose to make some with maple syrup because I bought some pure Maple syrup when I went to Canada last month.

2f7eyuqoud.jpg

The process and the recipe is very simple. I washed the ginger root and then scraped the outer skin off with a spoon.

I sliced the ginger root but not very thin because I wanted it in chunks because that is how I bought it in Spain.

0vtk1pw0wy.jpg

I used 8 cups of filtered water with one cup of maple syrup over the sliced ginger root. I brought the mixture to a boil and then simmered it in a covered pot for 30 minutes.

0vtk1pw0wy.jpg

I strained the ginger from the syrupy mixture and put them on the trays of my dehydrator instead of on parchment paper.

fb2wwj5sv4.jpg

I have a dehydrator that I use to make beef jerky. It has a heating element in the bottom.

I will have to leave the ginger in the dehradrator for several hours before it will be ready.

tyu3bx9fy3.jpg

I will store them in a glass jar and small amounts in a plastic bag in my purse. I like to keep it on me because it is really good for an upset stomach. The ginger flavored syrup will be used in other beverages.

7gq9lh4lhe.jpg

Bon Appetit!

t04q85blpq.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @jluvs2fly! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 26000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 27000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10