Spicy Roasted Butternut Squash steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food5 years ago (edited)

I've been eating a lot of meat lately and I need to re-energize my body with more vegetables. I decided to roast some organic butternut squash that I bought from the farmer's market. I am going to show you my process because I did not eat butternut squash when I was younger. It was not cooked by my family because we ate summer squash and zucchini which we grew in a garden, and because it was readily available.

xwmv4kcg8s.jpg

yfcuvqxo2s.jpg

82873sma0e.jpg

The first step is to wash the squash and then cut it in half. I do not cut my squash longitudinally because the seeds are in the bottom half of the squash.

7h7g0hh22p.jpg

I then cut the squash in half again which exposes the seeds and pulp in the bottom half.

v6gxvp06y5.jpg

You have to scoop out the seeds and fibrous material in the center of the bottom half with a spoon. Save the seeds for later if you are a gardener.

o03jtvmukt.jpg

Next, I cut the squash into chunks but make sure that each piece some skin on it.

4mozb5ety4.jpg

Drizzle some extra virgin olive oil on the squash chunks and then sprinkle some cayenne pepper on the squash for a little "kick." The combination of hot and sweet is delicious to me. You can add some garlic powder, but I didn't on this batch. Do not add any salt, because it is not needed and it will change the flavor.

I place the squash on parchment paper in a glass casserole dish. You can also use a metal pan or cookie sheet. I use parchment paper in the pan because it makes an easy clean up and keeps the skin from sticking to the pan.

Bake at 400 degrees F for 20 -30 minutes. I test my squash to see if it is done by piercing one of the larger chunks with a fork. The consistency should be like a roasted potato. The smell is glorious!

1a87wo1a4g.jpg

This squash is delicious and children also love it. Don't worry about the cayenne pepper being too much for young palates. Kids eat those hot and flaming cheetoes all of the time. This squash is definitely not that spicy but it is oh so good.

Bon Appetit!

kfz7b6l754.jpg

Sort:  

It looks delicious, I will probably cook the same. Especially my pumpkin has been in the fridge since September :)

Excellent recipe, my friend and you are right, this delicacy can perfectly arrange rest to the body! Thank you @jluvs2fly

I have never cooked butternut squash before. I will definitely add it to my grocery list. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @jluvs2fly! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 comments. Your next target is to reach 800 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jluvs2fly from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29