Making queso fresco.....

in #food6 years ago

IMG_20180610_141547280_HDR.jpg

My buddy and I are planning to open a real mexican food truck soon. Talking about using good cheeses and we settled on queso fresco. I have made mozzarella many times and I thought I would try to make it today.

It started out really well. My friend thought it was gonna be very complicated. I told him it should take less than a half hour. He looked at me with doubt.

IMG_20180610_142348263_HDR.jpg

I saw the whey forming and I knew we would be very successful. We put the curds in the cloth to strain. Tons of whey poured out of our curds.

IMG_20180610_142736708_HDR.jpg

IMG_20180610_154327797_HDR.jpg

So, after straining most of the whey, I put it in the refrigerator for a hour and a half to get all the whey out. When the time was up I added a little salt for flavor and it looked amazing. Next, I told him to try it and he was blown away by the cheese. He is a great mexican cook and we will be making it for our customers when we open. We are slowly getting a menu together :)

IMG_20180610_154956921_HDR.jpg

All ideas are welcomed and thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  

brilliant

Thanks and it is so easy to make. :)

am a trained chef and gladly help if you ever hit a snag-so ask any time and i will do my best to add some creative solutions

That is so kind. That's for your help. What is your specialty?

roots in German,Italian and French from the classical training but also had a catering company for over 12 years in LA and this city is strongly Mexican influenced but truly very versatile also into Japanese,Asian,Korean-this is what the wifey gets served on a daily basis:
https://www.allthereisislove.net/traders-grub wish you best of luck with your marvelous adventure

Wow that is quite a variety. I checked out the link. Looking good. My buddy live near coast of Ca for ten years and I lived in New Mexico for 2. We are tired of people on the East Coast slinging substandard "authentic food" . Thanks for your support. It means a lot to me :)

It's good to see an update from you. And also I didn't even know that you could make mozzarella by yourself or that it isn't too hard to make.

Yup, now I have a lot to blog about :) mozzarella only takes about a half hour to make. So simple and delicious. But, queso fresco is easier than that.

Great post @johnnycopper1! I never knew it could be so easy and fast! Btw, ever since you mentioned Mexican food, I've been wanting some..lol! I have a feeling that you're gonna need a lot more cheese though. ;) I love quesadilla's (aka Mexican grilled cheese) with chicken. Matter of fact I'm gonna make that for breakfast since I have all the ingredients on hand and a craving to boot!

@deerjay Im so glad this made you hungry for quesadilla. Hehe in the upcoming weeks well try more combinations. We hopefully get it all together by lat summer / early fall. Xoxo

Looking forward to the updates! If I ever get up your way, once you two get it going, then I'll definitely stop by for some good authentic Mexican food!! 😊

Thanks @deerjay..... You would think your in Mexico.... Hehehe. Just got done ripping a bunch of stuff out. Might post it. Who knows... :)

You should at least document the journey for yourself even if you don't decide to post!! Always nice to see the transformation and before/after shots!! I'm keeping my eyes open for updates either way! ;)

Thanks, yeah taking pic of the wreckage going on. Thinking of posting them and then doing more as it progresses. Not sure though or just do one long one when its done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96