My Very Own Tinolang Isda (Fish Soup) Recipe

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG20180317194040.jpg

In my intro post I said one thing I love to do is cooking. But im not an expert one, I am still learning. So here is my simple Fish soup dish.

Tinolang Isda is very easy to prepare, affordable and delicious soup. Practically any kind of fish can be used for this dish. The best ones are those that are the freshest catch of the day that you can find in the wet market. The most commonly used are tuna, tangigue (kingfish), pampano (pomfret) and lapu-lapu (grouper).

IMG20180317190321.jpg

But tonight I'm going to serve you a fresh Alumahan (Long-jawed Mackarel) which you can see at the picture above. These species belong to the same fish family as tunas.

IMG20180317191522.jpg

IMG20180317192125.jpg

The fish is boiled with onions,tomatoes and seasoned with salt.

IMG20180317190157.jpg

Leafy vegetables, like kangkong (water spinach), malunggay and camote tops (sweet potato leaves), are also added to add to the richness and nutritional value of the dish. But for now, I only used malunggay, fresh from our backyard.

So if you are tired of eating fried foods, give this soup dish a try. Not only is it delicious, it is also very healthy because you don’t need any oil to cook it, and the fish and vegetables are rich in vitamins and minerals

Try this recipe and get ready to be surprised and prepare to see fish in a different light.

Preparation Time: 10 minutes
Cooking Time: 3 minutes

Cooking Directions:

1.Clean the fish thoroughly. In a pot, add the water and bring to a boil. Add the tomatoes and onions. Simmer for about 3 to 5 minutes.

  1. Add the fish and continue simmering for another 5 minutes. Add the salt and season to taste.

  2. Add the malunggay. Continue cooking for another 5 minutes or until the fish and vegetables are done.

  3. Transfer to a serving bowl and serve hot.

  4. Enjoy!

IMG20180317194102.jpg

Every time I cooked Tinolang isda I always remember my childhood days when my Lola (grandmother) & Lolo (grandfather) always serve us tinolang isda every lunchtime after class together with my cousins. It was the best Tinola I've ever tasted! And I hope my Tinola taste good as them. Enjoy your dinner!

THANK YOU FOR READING,
@joyce86

Please support me as a newbie here and Ill do the same. ☺

Sort:  

sarap naman :)

Hehe, lalo na pag malamig ang panahon..
Thank you for supporting @gracealone

Masarap tlga yan kasi ako yung kumuha ng malunggay. (Anong konek?) 😂😂😂

At may dala pang flashlight.. 😄

Hmmmm...Perfect sa taglamig

At paggutom, haha 😹

Whoa! Karasa paghigop!!! 😋😋

As in.... Hehehe

Sarap n mn and healthy malungay :)

Yes po.. Thank you 😍

Great post. Yummy. Thanks for sharing your talent in cooking.

Thanks so much.. 👍😀

This post has been featured on Daily Steemitfamilyph featured post #72
Congratulations!

Wow, thank you so much @steemitfamilyph! 😄☺

Congratulations @joyce86! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Fish tomatoes soup...?! Isn't it fishy smell?? What an interesting food!
I can not imagine harmony with fish and tomatoes!! Maybe it is unique taste! haha I introduce to steemians about Korean food recipe,^^ If you have an interest, visit me! Thanks a lot! @eunjjn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66