Shopkins vs. Grossery Gang

in #food7 years ago

Hello everyone!
I was looking through my album of cakes and found a double-sided cake I made this spring for my twin niece and nephew's 9th birthday. I make their birthday cakes almost every year because I love to do it, I love them and their mom is my twin and works full time. She is always so busy, so I do it to help her out.
This year, they had a very scaled down celebration so a small cake was all that was required, but I still wanted to wow them. I decided to try a two-sided cake so they would each have their own personalized half.
I started asking them early in the year what their favorite toys or games were, to get an idea of how to decorate the cake. My niece likes Shopkins and then my sister told me about Grossery Gang. They really are gross, but 9-year old boys like it. Bagel Billie and Barf Bagel were the two characters I chose to design into a two-sided 3D cake. They were both the same shape, so it made it easier to decorate.
This is the Shopkins Bagel Billie side for my niece.

IMG_20170504_164601209.jpg

I made a round 8-inch cake which I filled with buttercream icing, and then positioned it on its side, pushing wooden dowels into the cake to keep it upright. I carved a small indent in the center of each side for the hole in the bagels and covered the whole thing with marshmallow fondant. I used modelling chocolate for the details on each side.
Here is the other side, Barf Bagel from the Grossery Gang.

IMG_20170504_164536888.jpg

The twins loved it and I was so happy to have succeeded with another new technique!
Here are a couple more of the cakes I have made for them over the years.

Veggietales

12822106_10209318711869159_2042089837_n.jpg

Minecraft (squares of chocolate cake, rice krispie treats, and blue jello)

16107344_1234882573265698_6791493621257543823_o.jpg

Thanks for stopping by @karenmakescakes.

Sort:  

Lovely cakes! My 7-year old has asked for a Minecraft cake in the past (haven't tried yet). He and my other children love to play an opensource version of the game, Minetest!

I haven't heard of that version....heck, who am I kidding? I had really never heard of minecraft before this cake! lol I have never been into video games, not even when my kids were growing up. This cake was really easy. No fancy pans or ingredients; just cut it into blocks and frosting on the top. You should try making one!

Thanks for the description. It looks more complicated (aka really cool!). Will probably give it a go. Have until March. We aren't much into games either but this one really unleashes the kids creativity!

There is a really good tutorial on You Tube by Yoyomax12. I watched it a few times before I made mine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69081.21
ETH 3809.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50