Fresh goatfish, red mullet, "timbungan" recipe

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Last friday morning me and my friends went roaming around Riyadh. And we missed one right turn on our way home and we happen to stumble on a fish market on the next corner. So instead of going home directly we decided to check for fresh fish. And luckily I bought a kilo of this fresh goatfish, red mullet or we call this fish in the Visayan vernacular as "timbungan".
As an islander I know what is fresh from not. And as an OFW who missed our local foods in Siquijor Island. Instantaneously the thought of making this fish into a "kinilaw". Kinilaw is a fresh fish fillet cut into cubes removing the flesh from the bones of the fish. Then add vinegar and lemon, salt and squeeze them together with the fish fillet to remove the slime and odor of the fish and drain the liquid . Then chopped tomatoes and onion and chillies toss it in a bowl salt and vinegar mix and serve fresh and raw. This is our version of susi eating fish raw. And the other parts I cooked it to our visayan fish tinola. Unlike the tagalog people where they love to cook fish soup "sinigang" as sour. We in the Visayas and in Mindanao we love cooking fish not sour. Just a onions, lemongrass, tomatoes, salt and chilies. That willl give a very delicious fresh and healthy food and some of the fish I fried it.
It still fills like home and it satisfies my craving for food I used to prepare back in my island.
After eating I felt relieved and sweating with soup and kinilaw for it is so hot spicy delicious. It was an awesome meal.

I cleaned and prepare the fish and spicies.
20180127_114057.jpg

20180127_114122.jpg

"Kinilaw"
20180127_120604.jpg

"Fish Tinola"
20180127_120742.jpg

"Fried Fish"
20180127_120436.jpg

THANK YOU VERY MUCH...
steemit new.png

Sort:  

Sarap naman nyan sir nakakagutom.

Thanks Sir kain tayo...

boss karl unsa mn ni kanding-kanding?, hahaha goatfish mn

Mao goatfish man daw sa english hahaha...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72