World's Greatest Mac N' Cheese - Kat's Corner

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hi my name is Kat and welcome to my Corner!

Today I am happy to share with you my awesome Kat’s Mac and Cheese recipe. This is one of my favorite meals. It not only tastes yummy but it’s fun to make. Please give it a try and let me know what you think. I think it just might be the best mac and cheese ever. If you have a mac and cheese recipe please share. Thank you

Let’s Make Kat’s Mac N’ Cheese… YUM!!!

Things you need to get cooking...

Supplies

  • Big pot – Pasta 
  • Medium pot – Cheese Sauce 
  • Wisk 
  • Strainer 
  • Baking dish 
  • Oven Mitts  
  • Cheese Grader – if you don’t already have grated cheese. I have tried better blocks of cheese and grated the cheese but I think the grated bag is easier and tastes better. My Dad and Mom thought it tastes better too and costs a lot less. I recommend the mac and cheese blend from the grocery store. If they don’t have that use mostly cheddar and add some jack cheese.  

Ingredients 

  • 2 Tablespoon – Unsalted Butter 
  • 3 Tablespoon - Flour 
  • 1 ½ cup – Milk   
  • 1/2Teaspoon - Pink Sea Salt 
  • 1/2 Teaspoon - Garlic Power 
  • 1/4  Teaspoon - Onion Power 
  • 1/4 Teaspoon - Chipotle Chili Powder 
  • 1/4 Teaspoon - Ground Black Pepper   
  • 8 ounces – Mac and Cheese Blend Grated (for the cheese sauce) 
  • 2 ounces – Chedder/Jack/Parm (whatever you like. This is for the top of the mac n cheese before it goes in oven)   
  • 8 ounces – Penne Pasta   1 Tablespoon - Olive Oil  Pam or Cooking Spray or Oil (something to little grease baking pan) 

3 Steps to Yummy Mac N' Cheese

Before you start be sure to wash your hands!

Step 1... Pasta

Cook Pasta Al Dente Get Water Boiling and Ready for Pasta. Once boiling add pasta and cover. Follow directions on pasta box. Just cook less because it goes in the oven later. So maybe three minutes less than box says.   Once Ready, strain, rinse and put back in pot!  

Boil Water... until water boils go and start step 2

Pour in Pasta Carefully and Cover

Pour one tablespoon of olive oil in the pasta. So pasta does not stick up all together.

Once Ready Remove from Stove, Pour in Strainer over sink and rinse with cool water. Then put pasta back in large pot (no heat) and wait for cheese sauce to finish from step 2.

Step 2... Cheese Sauce

  • Put medium pan on medium/low heat
  • Add Butter and Melt 
  • Then add Flour 
  • Wisk Butter and flour (2-3 minutes) 

Note: Stop here and pre-heat oven to 350 degrees

Now slowly add milk and whisk till thick (8-10 minutes)

This is what it will look like when your done with adding the milk...

Now add spices from the ingredient list above...

Then slowly add cheese and stir I all together until nice and thick. (3-5 minutes)   

This is what the cheese sauce will look like when your done...

Now Pour the cheese sauce in the pot of pasta and stir...

Step 3... Baking

Pour Mac N' Cheese into a grease baking pan and top with more cheese.

Place in Oven... Timer set 20 minutes!!!

If you like it crispy on top after 20 minutes is over set oven to broil. Be careful or you will burn it! 

Good time to get cheese of pots before it sticks bad

Let's Eat!

YUMMY!!! YUMMY!!! YUMMY!!! YUMMY!!! YUMMY!!! YUMMY!!! YUMMY!!!

Might seem like a lot but once you do this one time it is so easy trust me you will love it!  

I hope you love this mac and cheese as much as I do. My Dad crumbles bacon on it and say's OMG a lot.

Thank you for visiting my corner

Your friend... Kat

Sort:  

simple, easy and delicious;)

Yes! thank you

Hi Kat, that looks absolutely amazing, being English and in the UK, we do not have any decent Mac n Cheese, in fact the closest we have comes in a tin and is pretty boring (and tasteless.) Love the idea of crumbling bacon on it too, amazing idea, just about EVERYTHING tastes better with bacon!!!! (Except custard.)
Keep up the GREAT WORK.... You now have a huge fan in Blackpool, England and as well as trying this recipe, looking forward to trying more.

Many Thanks
Paul

WoW thank you! I know you will love this Mac N Cheese and I hope to post some more food up soon! I was thinking Banana bread.

@katscorner, Is it recommended to use any salt ?,cause in my country Uganda we don't have pink Sea salt.It is 10:00 pm CAT,and am going to have supper,this is timely but tell you the truth am having rice,may be I will try it tommorow...

Sorry I could not answer sooner it was bedtime. It try my best to answer before or after school. Any kind course ground sea salt it does not have to be pink. I like the pink color and my parent like the taste.

if you use sea salt or regular table salt, use a bit less than the recipe... pink sea salt is mild by comparison.

Thank you Kat! I like your posts, keep up the good work

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

thank you I will visit!

That looks incredible. Great winter dish. Cozy.

Cozy I like that! It was a huge hit this year for the holidays!

nice one @kat...after following these step of yours, i got to prepare mine and it was so delicious and it was accompanied with a glass of juice..... thanks for the tips and procedure

I am so glad you enjoyed it! thank you for trying and telling me about it!

magnificence

thank you so much!

So nice 😄 check my channel and see my food posts 🙏💘

Thank you I will stop by and check for sure.

Lol. Nunca le damos mérito a los utensilio de cocina. Esa foto está genial.

thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67