Struck out fishing but found a blue crab!

in #food6 years ago

IMG_4094.jpeg

So today I left work early to take another weekend trip to the beach. My goal was to get down early enough so that I could get a few hours of fishing in before sundown, so that I could try and cook some fresh fish. I am probably one of the PICKIEST eaters alive. I don't like that many foods, and fish is one that I have really never given a chance, and so I was going to hopefully catch myself a trout or flounder, because of how good I have heard they are.

I made it down to the beach right at 4:30 and headed straight down to the dock and started fishing. My second cast I caught a catfish, and I should have known right then and there that it was going to be one of those days. Sail cats, from what I have heard, are not good eating at all, and after 3 hours of fishing all I had caught was 5 catfish. I made a move around 7:30 and took most of my gear back to the house and went to wade in the water in a different spot to fish till around 8:30. I got a few bites, but nothing got hooked, and I made my way back to the house. Walking along the beach on the way back, I spotted a blue crab making its way in the shallow water, I quickly grabbed it and knew I would at least have something to eat!

Now, I have never been a traditional sea food fan, but I love two seafood dishes, crab legs and lobster tail. Although I do love them, I had never cooked or cleaned either before. As soon as I made it back to the house, I put the crab on ice and looked up how to cook it. Quickly cleaned it while boiling some water, added my seasoning and the crab and waited for it to boil. Once it was ready I plated it and quickly started chowing down while it was still hot!

Image-1-1.jpg

It wasn't much and definitely wasn't a full meal, but it was delicious! I will say from now on, if I see a crab, there is no way I'm not grabbing it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62258.08
ETH 3157.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78