Keto Food Journal

in #food5 years ago (edited)

It's the start of the week. I spent the weekend enjoying a variety of carbohydrates like bread, cookies, pizza, ice cream, pasta, and croissants. I can do that and not suffer the negative consequences usually associated with consuming large amounts of carbohydrates because my body is keto-adapted. It means that I went through a period of time where I strictly ate ketogenic meals and as a result my body healed many of its metabolic functions. It's worth noting before moving on is that I time my carb ups around my strength training routines. I work out 2-3 times a week, and do bodyweight exercises at home and at work daily throughout the week. I'd be happy to discuss any of those topics in the comments below if a reader has more questions. I could also dedicate future posts to them if enough readers are interested.

I will be sharing my food journal as a way to help me stay on track, and to shed a light on what goes on in the kitchen of a keto athletic guy.


My first day going back into ketogenic eating is often mark with symptom of ketoflu; foggy mind, fatigue, rapid water loss, upset stomach. Luckily, as soon as I begin consuming ketogenic foods, the symptoms decrease and are often gone by the second day.

I currently am going through a cutting cycle, so I am eating less calories than my body's energy requirements This will cause the body to dig into the fat tissues for energy to produce ketones and fatty acids for energy. I calculated my caloric requirements using this intuitive calculator from the good folks at Ruled.me, an excellent online source for ketogenic information.


IMG_4331.JPG

avocado and cheddar slaw

6:00pm
prep time: 5 minutes.

1286 Calories
117g Fat | 34g Protein | 8.5g netCarb

ingredients

  • cubed medium avocado. (160g)
  • a quarter of a diced yellow onion. (46g)
  • three chopped leafs of red lettuce. (46g)
  • table-spoon of chopped flat parsley (15g)
  • table-spoon of chopped parsley (15g)
  • 120g of cubed sharp cheddar.
  • 4 table-spoons of mayonnaise.
  • 1 tea spoon of salt, or more if desired.

directions

  • combine all the ingredients in a bowl, and mix gently.

hemp milk protein pudding*

7:00 pm

230 Calories
2.5g Fat | 45.5g Protein | 4.5g netCarb

prep time: 5 minutes.

ingredients

  • 2 Scoops of Quest Salted Caramel Protein Powder. (56g)
  • 1/2 Cup of Unsweetened Hemp Milk . (120g)
  • 1 teaspoon of Spirulina
  • This drink is not ketogenic, but it works when consumed with the salad because the overall fat to protein ratio is around 80/15. It also isn't the yummiest drink I've had, but I needed the quick extra protein. The spirulina adds an alkilizing effect with essential minerals and vitamins.

So that's it, that was all my food for the day. I hope you have found this helpful, if you do try any of the recipes, I'd love to read your feedback. If you have any questions, pease ask below, and remember to upvote, follow, and resteem if you'd like to support the work on this blog. Thank you and until tomorrow, goodnight :)

Sort:  

@ketopian You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Congratulations @ketopian! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34