You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Purple Leaf Plums: More Than a Pretty Leaf

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Here in Eugene, there are thousands of these trees. About 5 years ago we had an ice storm right after they bloomed sad week, there was 5 stories of broken plums and tree debris at our local recycle center. I have 3 in my backyard and during that storm all of them were split in half almost dead to the ground and even 1 year later, you couldn't even tell all recovered and are huge again. Super resistant variety! I like the blue plum with yellow flesh better. I find like most stone fruit trees, it is best to prune them over winter and then new growth typically will have better fruit. One of my backyard plums produce fruit and they are delicious I've made many batches of plum sauce and was thinking this year to try some plum kombucha and or wine... I think all cities should put in edible fruit trees makes sense... I lived on a fruit tree farm in 90's and really miss working with trees on that scale... thanks for the lovely post! oh yeah you have a new follower too ;)

Sort:  

Many people do not like cleaning up after fallen fruit, but that seems a small concern. It's really special to have fruit bearing trees in one's neighborhood.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63506.20
ETH 3065.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04