MICHELIN "Starred⭐⭐⭐" Homemade Fries

in #food6 years ago

Potatoes, potatoes, & more potatoes

I am a big fan of potato, from mashed potato, potato chips, potato salad to home made cutted potato.

I got a big curiosity how to make the best fries, therefore I asked my ex colleague who is an Executive Chef for western cuisine. He said in order to make the "Michelin" standard homemade super french fries, I need to prepare them for at least 3 hours 😱😱. For me as a layman, I am wondering why it took so long to prepare.

He said the potatoes need triple cook methods. Woahhh, cook 3 times...??? so without a doubt, I headed straight to Giant Hypermarket to get the potatoes. I think yesterday was my lucky day, 1kg of imported potato only at RM1.60. I grabbed 2 plastic bags of 3kg potatoes and wrestled with some aunties there😂😂 since its promotion. I went back home and DIY prepared the homemade super fries.

Step 1 (Preparation)


Rinse the potatoes and clean all the dirt. You can cut of the skin but its optional. I preferred the rusty look😊.

Step 2 ( Cutting)


Cut the potatoes into 1/2 inch. (at first I though it might be too thick) but thats the instruction from my ex colleague.

Step 3 ( Removing The Starch)


Rest the potatoes in a bowl of water for 15 minutes to clear the starch, so it will not stick together in the deep fryer, I am using wok since I dont have a deep fryer😂.

Step 4 ( First Cook-Boil)


Boil the potatoes in a pot for 15-20 minutes. Dont overcook it, if more than 20 minutes the potatoes will turned to potato into soup instead😂.

Step 5 (Air Dry)


After 20 minutes. Take out the potatoes with a strainer and left it air dry for 30 minutes before frying. This is to bring out all the moisture from the potatoes.

Step 6 (First Fry)


After the potatoes are dry, heat up the fryer or wok, the put in all the potatoes inside. For the 1st fry, dont fry the potatoes until golden yellow, fry it until 40% cooked then take it out for cooling.

Step 7 (Froze The Potatoes)


After the potatoes are cooled by air dry, pack them into a plastic bag and keep it in the freezer for at least 1 hour 30 minutes to drain the moisture from water and oil.

Step 8 (Final Fry)

Take the potatoes out from the chiller without defroze them. Heat up the fryer or wok and put the potatoes inside. Cook until the colour turned golden yellow and take it out from the pot. Add a pinch of salt for flavouring. OMG... the taste is just too awesome, but took me more than 4 hours to prepare.😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Good looking

Easier to go McDonald's and buy some 😂😂😂

Hey... thanks for dropping by... too much work bro.. 4 hours...😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Wah!! That a lot of work, usually I cut the potato then fry it 😂. Skipped all of the step above. I should try this in future!

Hey.. thanks for dropping by.. a lot of work... i want to cry liao.. but the outcome.. OMG..too good...😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Bah, next time bawa keluar share share makan ah.. 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can masak for u if u want..1😋😋

Posted using Partiko Android

4 hours for a bowl of super tasty fried potatoes...I guess that's super worth it😂

Your post has been manually curated by littlenewthings

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

This post has been upvoted by @steem-ambassador.
The #promo-steem mission is to support high quality promotional and educational posts which raise the profile and value of STEEM.
For full details of the programme, please visit https://promo-steem.com/

Congratulation @king-cobra! Your post has been recently featured on #TeamMalaysia's Daily Pick Series!

Have a nice day and STEEM to the moon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93