Broodje Haring aka Herring Sandwich

in #food5 years ago

619A2474.jpg

Hi Steemit!

How do you guys feel about a herring sandwich? I heard it is extremely popular in Netherlands and a lot of people love it. When me and @matt-a went to Amsterdam I got to try the famous dutch herring and it was nothing short of delicious, definitely the best cured herring I've had in my entire life, mind you the Black sea herring I'm used to is very well known, too and loved by thousands.

Okay, so this dish was requested by a few people so I thought I might as well go ahead and make it since I already had some herring from the Russian grocery store that we frequent. I wasn't joking when I said I love herring haha.

619A2510.jpg

Alright, sit tight @karinxxl, @jjhemp, @scipio, @woodzi, @anouk.nox, @poeticsnake. Even though this is not your plain version made with a hot dog bun and chopped onion 😂, I hope you will appreciate the effort and creativity I've put into this. Now let's get to it!

Ingredients:

  • cured herring fillet;
  • purple onion;
  • dark leafy greens;
  • dill pickles;
  • cilantro;
  • horseradish mustard (optional).

619A2437.jpg
619A2504.jpg

Directions:

Okay, so I wasn't sure how a condiment would be in this sammy, I still wanted to give it a try, horseradish mustard was a great choice in my opinion, it provided that kick the sandwich needed and gave it a bit more character. Feel free to skip it if you don't like it.

By the way, the leafy greens and cilantro did make a huge difference for me, while any kind of greens completely overlooked in the original version, I loved having them on top of my broodje. Not only they make this sandwich visually appealing, they taste delightful.

Assembling this shouldn't be a problem, just place all of the ingredients on your slice of bread or a hot dog bun if you're going for the authentic look and enjoy the taste of Holland!

619A2486.jpg

The images were taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark III and a Canon EF 24-105mm - F/4 lens.

kotturinn-2.png
artwork by kookyan

Sort:  

Eventhough its not my type of sandwich your presentation skills are amazing

Thanks! Yeah haha, cured fish is not very popular in the world :D what is the most typical sandwich in Turkey?

this kind of unhealthy stuff :D

Looks like a veggie panini? Haha

Ahahaha! As another Dutchie I only started eating Haring 2 years ago. Took me a while to learn to love fish and Haring and Mackarel were the worst (and/bacause often loved most by real fish eaters :-)). Even if I still didn’t like eating it, you make it look yummee anyway :D

Posted using Partiko iOS

Really?! You're so late to the game hahaha, I love all kinds of fish, raw, cured, smoked, baked you name it :)
I'm happy your attitude towards it changed though haha.

Thank you!

Yes, it took me a loooong time! Now my favourite fish is ceviche, I know people unused to this are often shocked since it's raw fish, but I so so love the sourness of it all :-) Yummm.

Oh yeah, seviche is great, I sometimes go to this Mexican sea food restaurant for some, yum!

These sandwich are delicious, I love them.

I also get what @soyrosa I saying. I also didn't used to be a fishy person until a couple of years ago. Maybe that is something that our taste buds need to develop (and you were just very mature very early Kot hahahaha). Now my favorite fish is absoutely raw salmon

Again Kot, I really love the shots and I was on the hunt for fish today because of your post

For some reason I've always loved fish, either cooked or cured haha doesn't matter, at least you guys re-discovered it and can now enjoy it with me haha

Raw salmon!!! I love, love, love it, too! Did you buy any fish though?

Salmon sashimi ended up in my basket! nom nom nom nom

Oh that sounds so good!

This looks so yummy. On the list of things to try. Thanks for sharing.

I hope you like it :) thank you!

Mmm, looks great, I love herring!

You should try making the sandwich! Thanks!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Выглядит очень вкусно! Спасибо за отличные фото!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99