Chili Con Carne

in #food5 years ago

619A1161.jpg

Or should I say . . . First Timer Basic Chili? 🍲


Chili, just like the rest of Mexican dishes (or Tex-Mex?), is something I never tried until I moved to the US. The only time I encountered this one in real life was while playing the Sims 2 as a kid. Chili would pop up on the fridge sometimes as one of the lunch menu items you can pick to cook. But even then, of course I had absolutely no clue what it was and just called it . . . you gotta get ready for this one haha, I called it borscht haha. I mean, it looked red as far as I was concerned it looked more like the beet soup I am used to, than anything else.

But anyways, back to the star of this post. When I moved across the ocean and I tried chili for the first time, I remembered this borscht dish from the Sims 2, it tasted nothing like the soup I knew and I loved it! It has been years since then and just like that, out of nowhere I woke up one morning and said: "You know what? I'm gonna make chili today!" haha.

Not quite sure I should post the recipe, I have to be honest with y'all, it is a basic one, sort of.

619A1137.jpg

Prior to making this, I decided to consult my Mexican friend and see if she thinks there's something I should pay attention to or add to the pot to truly bring out the traditional flavors of this dish. She told me that chili is one of those meals you can tweak and make your own and there wasn't any secret or a special ingredient thing, well, aside from using Mexican oregano, which luckily I had plenty of on hand.
But then another mutual friend decided to chime in and mentioned something I would never think of myself, he said that chili benefits from some dill pickle juice, can you imagine?! And then she was like: "Oh yeah, dill pickle juice would be so good in chili". Armed with helpful tips and tricks I was ready to make this basic chili.

619A1122.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb extra lean ground beef;
  • 15 oz can black beans;
  • 15 oz can small red beans;
  • 15 oz can zesty diced tomatoes;
  • 2-3 tb. spoons corn oil;
  • 1 onion (diced);
  • 1 bell pepper (diced);
  • 1 jalapeno pepper (diced);
  • 3-4 cloves garlic (minced);
  • 1/2 cup water;
  • 1/2 cup dill pickle juice.

Spices:

  • salt (to taste);
  • 1 teaspoon paprika;
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper;
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder;
  • 1 teaspoon chipotle powder;
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin;
  • 1 teaspoon Mexican oregano;
  • Tabasco hot sauce (optional).

Toppings:

  • fresh jalapenos;
  • cheddar cheese;
  • sour cream;
  • radishes;
  • corn tortilla chips;
  • scallions.

619A1142.jpg

Directions:

  1. Heat corn oil in a heavy bottom pot, add in onion, garlic, bell pepper and jalapeno pepper, cook at a medium heat until the veggies soften up. Add in ground beef, break it apart with a wooden spoon and continue to saute until the meat is browned (5-7 minutes).

  2. Next, add in the beans, tomatoes, water, dill pickle juice and spices, stir. Reduce the heat to low and simmer for 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally.

  3. Give your chili a taste and adjust the seasoning and spice level if needed. Let chili rest for about 10 minutes. Serve and enjoy!

619A1156.jpg

The images were taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark III and a Canon EF 50mm - F/2.8 lens.

kotturinn-2.png
artwork by kookyan

Sort:  

And dont forget the 10 liters of milk for later on to cool down your mouth again when it is burning like crazy hahahha

Valid tip, Karin! I love spicy food though, thanks :)

Looks fit! But unfortunately would destroy me with my stomach issues. I was never a huge spicy food lover but a good (mild 😉) chili is a great winter warmer.

Living vicariously through your food posts kotturin 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey Raj! You can totally make it mild, pleasing to your taste buds and easy on your stomach. Indeed, it is a nice comfort dish for cold winters, just like Vietnamese Pho, I love that one as well.

Thank you :)

It's not going to happen unfortunately. I can't eat beans.... Or onions or spices at the moment lol

In fact it would be much quicker to just list what I can eat because the list is so small. Ha ha, I have dreams of Asian food in general these days cause soy is a big no no. It's still nice to see people enjoying their food though even when you can't yourself.

Your pictures are so good as well 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Sorry to hear that, kinda makes me feel bad posting about food that you can't eat. I hope that changes soon and you can catch up on all the yum yums you missed out. Asian food is my favorite, especially Japanese cuisine.
Thanks, I always try to put a lot of thought into them :)

Hey... don't feel bad, honestly it is something I have been dealing with for more than 2 years which has reached the worst point right now. I've just got to severely limit my foods at the moment to try and heal myself as the doctors are clueless about my condition.

I love Asian food too, probably one of my favourites. Sushi, Thai food and some Chinese as well.

Lol, I've been missing the basic Asian stir fry I used to make so much. All I did was throw Chinese 5 spice with a bit of sweet chilli sauce on the side of the wok after the veggies were cooked, let the spices cook a bit then a little squeeze of lime juice and a load of soy sauce over. Mix it up and it was like this sweet and sour, caramel and slightly spicy mess of deliciousness. Mmnnnnn 😂😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I love the way you described the stir fry, I can almost smell the aroma in my kitchen. The best foods/dishes are the ones that are not so good for you, why does it have to be like that. Soy sauce is also one of my favorite condiments, we recently started buying the low sodium version though, just because I can eat a little bit too much of it.

"Fingers crossed" you're feeling better in no time, for now though, enjoy looking at my pictures haha :)

La carne de vaca es mejor que la carne de cerdo.No se puede comer carne de cerdo😂😂

I don't speak Spanish.

Ну,я тоже мас о менос.Короче,говядина в Чили это хорошо,а свинина стриктли прохибитед😂

Я не знала, что кто-то готовит чили со свининой, разве что некоторые люди добавляют кусочки бекона при сервировке, но у меня не было хаха

Ты-молодец!😂

Спасибо :)

Обращайтесь!👍

the wonderful work my friend.
food is very delicious @kotturinn

Thanks a lot @love-peace :)

thank so much friend.:)

That looks soooo good, yum!

It was delicious @white.tiger, although the beans made me fart a lot :D hahaha

Вау! Даже слюнки потекли! Отличные фото!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31