Habanero-Mint Jelly

in #food7 years ago

Last winter when me and my husband @matt-a visited family in Eastern Kentucky we decided to check out one of those book/food/random things stores, I suppose. Either way, I had never been to that place before, and I just like checking new things out, especially if I don't have anything to do haha.
So that store was pretty sweet, it had a lot of books for really cheap. But there was one that really caught my attention, here is a picture of it.

Since most of you guys know, I am really into canning, even though I don't can often. So that book has so many recipes and tips on how to preserve food, you should definitely check it out if you like to can.

Since the recipe for this jelly can be found in the book, I decided to not retype it into my post and took a picture of it. If you can't really see the tiny font, please, click on the title below and read it online. Not only it provides very detailed step by step instructions, it also gives you nutritional information for the jelly, nice!

Habanero-Mint Jelly

Now let's see how it turned out, shall we?!

The recipe says to use sweet peppers, but to be honest with you I am not quite sure what kinda peppers they are so I used some peppers growing in my garden, well the last of them actually. These are supposed to be red bell peppers, and some of them are, plus a poblano pepper.


А friend of mine has a really nice herb garden and she was nice enough to bring me a whole cup of mint, just what I needed!

Side notes:

  • I only used 2 habaneros instead of 3, I didn't want my jelly to be too hot haha
  • And I put 2 cups of sugar into it, I don't like stuff that is too sweet
  • It wasn't as minty as I imagined it would be, so next time I decide to cook it again, I will add some of the mind into my food processor to really get that minty flavor out!


Sort:  

Ok, the fact that you managed to find such book by coincidence is just great. And I really love that you managed to try something from it. Too bad that this book isn't available in our language. But I'll definitely try to find it now when I saw how simple this jelly was so I can try any of the recipes myself.

Well, you can click the link provided in the post and it will take you to the recipe online and from there you can navigate to any other recipe in the book. translating recipes with google translate is not as bad as it may seem, I've done it before and usually it does a decent job.

Oh, my... How could I miss it. :) Thank you. I will definitely look through. Usually, I don't have much trouble translating. But it's different if I have a hard copy of the book, or I have to print it out on a paper etc. :) And then the measuring units are a bit complicated. But "where is a will there is a way". Apparently. :) Thank you again.

Great post, I enjoy growing chilli myself. Cheers mike

Hi kotturinn ... your ideas of canning are taking its practical shapes .... And your work on this Project brought us to the hot recipes of Habaneros and Jalapenos.... But still mint and sugar are making it cool and sweet haha... I have also start work on canning... Have a great time...

nazirkhyber_01.JPG

Hey! Yeah I am getting better at it haha. Your family should try this recipe perhaps using whatever hot peppers are available where you live, I am sure it is still going to taste great!

Que rica salsa

wow this is super cool to have and you made it more awesome thanks for sharing :)

Anytime! Happy to see you guys are into it haha

Im not sure about this one. I think it could be good but could be too hot lol.

I only used 2 habaneros instead of 3 and to be honest it wasn't hot at all, it tastes sweet right away and then you get a slight kick of spice that lasts a couple seconds.

Good post, very well written. Thanks for sharing :) Keep on Steeming.

Thanks, @firepower! I gotta work on my writing though, I am not that good at it haha

@Perfect recipe, keep sharing my recipe I'm sure there are people who love your recipe, best wishes for you @matt-a.

@bukharisulaiman

Thank you :)

Nice post :) Beautiful photos, looks so yummy :)

Thanks! I haven't tried it on food yet, but I guess it would be good on about anything!

yess.. really gd

Thanks @shady!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61750.97
ETH 2886.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63