Snow inspired winter chicken salad

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG_3327.JPG

I remember being a child in growing up in Canada, every winter when the first snow fall came I would wonder if a snow day would be called? I would wake up hoping the snow would be piled high in the yard outside my house and the plows would be slow and the could would be closed for the day! A snow day would be declared!

Well today in my adult life I declared my own snow day, I was snowing and I was staying in doors!

snowday.JPG

I had big plans to go see my girlfriend Steph who lives an hour away but when I saw all the snow coming down I decided to stay in town. When the snow is floating down from the sky and the flakes are big I tend to get this really cozy feeling. All I want to do is sit by the fire not that I currently have a fire place curl up, drink some tea or maybe wine in a few hours and read a book or blog on Steemit.

Well I guess I don't have a fire place and I am in-between novels right now anyone have any good recommendations? So looks like sitting around reading all day is not going to happen. Today I will be spending the day in my second favourite room of the house, the kitchen! I mean I like cooking all year round but there is something particularly enjoyable about preparing warm delicious food inside and away from the frosty cold weather.

Salad was on the menu, now I know what you are thinking you don't cook a salad do you?

IMG_3323.JPG

Cool and refreshing was not really what I was in the mood for, I wanted something more hearty and filling but still full of veggies! I created a warm winter salad that was delicious! I added chicken but it would also be amazing chicken free for anyone living a vegan or vegetarian lifestyle.

IMG_3324.JPG.steemit.com/150/200

Chicken
Marinate chicken, I used thighs in a lemon dijon marinade...
lemon juice, dijon mustard, olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper.
I left the chicken in the marinade overnight and it cooked up delicious
I baked it in the oven for about 25 minutes and then pan fried the chicken to finish it off, you could also do this in reverse as well. I like to do pan fry because it makes the chicken look nicer, I find the boiled look rather unappatising!

Salad
Base of the salad was field greens and baby spinach, I like to mix it up a bit and not use all the same leaf.
Cubed baked butternut squash, cubed baked beets, purple onion, bosc pear, candied pecans and yellow raisins
I cooked the squash earlier in the day so when I came home I only had to finish the chicken and assemble the salad.

Dressing
I also made this in advance so it would be ready to go for dinner time today.
Juice of one orange and some zest, balsamic, olive oil, maple syrup, cinnamon, dash of nutmeg, salt, pepper and a dash of hot sauce and lemon
Just add the oil last and shake it all up in a jar, if for any reason it won't emulsify then just add a hint of dijon and it'll all come together.

IMG_3327.JPG

The overall prep for this salad did take a while but the bright side is I made extra so it will be easy to just toss together for lunch tomorrow! This is quite delicious if anyone needs further instructions please just comment below and let me know!

Follow me @kylaki if you want to hear more about my winter cooking adventures or if you want to see what else I'm up to in Canada and around the world!

As always comments appreciated ❤️

Sort:  

Yummy that looks delicious I want to eat it!!

Yah it was Reallllly good I loved it, you gotta try it!

looks very good!

It was really good I definitely enjoyed it!
Thanks for the comment and the up vote :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56