PORK DUMPLINGS (GYOZA/ POT STICKERS)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemies!

Do you ever walk by Asian restaurants and be like MMMM...That smells so yummy, I want some of that right meow! Well I certainly do! Unfortunately for me I am severely allergic to soybeans/soya , you can see where that might cause me a few issues. 😕 Luckily I have a genetic family gift passed down from my grand-father, clairgustance. What is that weird thing you ask? It's the ability to taste foods and pick apart the ingredients one by one and never actually tasting the food and going by my sense of smell only. What kind of sorcery is this right!?! It has served me well but I'm that weirdo at the grocery store in the foreign food isle smelling every spice or weird food I come across until I match what I was smelling to create the dish I want.

The discovery of coconut aminos has been the best thing since sliced bread in my world. It's essentially a soy free version of low sodium soya sauce. I'm sure it doesn't taste the same because it certainly doesn't smell the same but it's allowed me to have Asian style cuisine without fearing for death or an emergency hospital visit. Before I was aware of my allergy( about a decade ago), I used to love pork dumplings even tho they made me feel really bad and most recipes I found never really stood up to the restaurants version not that I actually remembered what they tasted like. 😂 This recipe is by no means authentic but my interpretation of something I hadn't tasted in a decade with the ingredients that won't send me into anaphylactic shock. This also led me to the realization that your all getting hosed when you buy them at restaurants. For not much more than the price you pay for 6 dumplings, you can make a year's supply... Yikes!

pork_dumplings.jpg

1 - 1/2 cup finely chopped cabbage
2 cup finely chopped mushrooms
1 cup finely chopped onion

1/4 of a whole garlic (about 4-5 cloves)
2 tsp grated fresh ginger (I use a cheese grater, don't forget to peal the skin first)

2 packages of dumpling shells ( need 1 -1/2 the left overs can be frozen for later use)
750g ground pork (approximately)
1- 1/2 cup green onions ( about 2 full bunches)
2 tsp chili paste
1/3 cup honey
2 tbs sesame oil
1 tbs coconut amino ( or low sodium soya sauce)
1 tsp of each:

  • onion powder
  • celery salt
  • salt ( I use Kosher sea salt from the dead sea and it's extremely salty, you may have to adjust to taste if using regular table salt)

1- 1/2 tsp chinese 5 spice
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Oil for cooking

On medium-high heat (6-7) in a large skillet, heat cooking oil and fry cabbage, onions and mushrooms until it begins to brown. Add garlic and ginger and finish browning the mixture. Once cooked, set aside and let cool.

pizap.com15519495544721.jpg

In a mixing bowl, combine raw ground pork and the remaining ingredients. Once the veggie mixture is cool enough, add to the pork mixture and mix well. If you want to make sure it is to your taste ( salty enough etc...) cook a small test patty in frying pan and adjust flavors to taste) Keep in mind I like my dumplings on the sweeter side, 1/4 of honey is fine if you like them less sweet). Allow mixture to sit and spices to absorb for a few hours or so in the refrigerator (overnight is better but I can never wait that long!).

Set up a plate or cutting board, a small bowl of warm water, a large freezer bag or damp towel. Layout some of the wrappers and fill the center of each with a small portion of the mixture, careful not to overfill or it will be difficult to fold. Dip fingers in the warm water and wet all around the wrapper and fold over, if it's too difficult for you to make the pleats, just fold them over. I suck at that part, the stomach wont tell the difference so don't feel bad if you cant, as long as the dumpling is fully sealed, your in the clear. As you fold them, put them in the freezer bag or under the damp towel right away because the dough will dry out fast. Make sure they don't touch each other or they will stick together and that is trouble getting them apart.

pizap.com15519497219111.jpg

There are two ways to cook them. The semi-proper way and the convenient way. The proper way is in bamboo steamers, but most of us don't have that.

METHOD #1 (semi-proper)

Set up a double boiler/steamer pot and lid lined with parchment paper and spread dumplings without them touching each other or they will really stick together. Don't attempt this method without the parchment paper or you will literally have pot-stickers and the only way they will come out is in pieces. You have been warned! Cover and allow them to steam until the dough looks like cooked pasta, the dough will appear to stick to the meat when ready. I like to give them a quick fry in a skillet on one side as well with a mix of cooking oil and sesame oil (use a lid so the edges don't dry out) but not necessary they can be eaten without frying them if you prefer.

pizap.com15519504212851.jpg

METHOD #2 (convenient)

If your thoughts were double wha?? this method is for you. In a large skillet on medium heat , add cooking oil and sesame oil and place dumplings standing up and once again make sure they are not touching each other, cook until browned on the bottom, turn them over to one side to make sure they have adequate time too fully cook the meat, once browned add 1/2 to 3/4 cup of water to steam them (it will splash back a bit so be careful, use the lid as a shield like a warrior) and cover with the lid until water has mostly evaporated and the side of the dumpling sticks to the meat. Remove from heat and serve.

pizap.com15520347366391.jpg

If you want the little brown sauce, in a small bowl, combine a drop of honey, sesame oil and a tiny amount of chili paste ( the red chili pepper sauce you get at Tokyo express) Add one part water, one part coconut amino (or low sodium soya sauce) and one part rice wine vinegar and mix.

pizap.com15519496354331.jpg

This is a large recipe and the raw dumplings can be frozen for quick and easy later use, just allow to thaw before cooking. To best freeze them, place the bag on a plate or cutting board, I know I will sound like a broken record but make sure they do not touch and put it in the freezer, once they are frozen enough that they will not stick together then shake the frozen dumplings to the bottom of the bag and freeze the next batch, repeat until all your dumplings are frozen. When you take them out to thaw, remember to separate them while they are still frozen no touchie again!! Once these guys stick together it's hard to separate without tearing them to shreds.

Cheers my friends! X🐞X

Sort:  

When I made these I made the dumplings from scratch, it took forever but it was well worth it

It's definitely a lot of work but worth it. I fold them in batches so I don't have to spend all that time at once.

Have made these on two different times for parties and have been complimented over and over

I bet!! Home made dumplings are the bomb! I make them for just @silvergingerman and I and they don't last long. A whole batch will be gone in 2 days before I even have time to think about freezing them.

I still wanna make these and the local sushi bar sells all the stuff to do this. But I plan to steem steam them and not frying.

It's all about preference, I prefer frying them even if I steam them first. Since I make most of my food from scratch and make this along with other Asian type items in my hallway sized kitchen, whatever takes less room is my preferred method and frying them is a space saver for me!

That looks tasty! I bet it smelled incredible, too!

Oh It is good and smells soooo good, I even have them for breakfast when I make them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99