You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Are Farmers Still Struggling If There Is A Growing Demand For Buying Local?

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I like to shop local businesses and markets, much of it is due to my severe food allergies and less risk of contamination for me. In my experience, shopping in local markets is possible but time consuming to find farms offering their products cheaper than others and the food last longer in general. On the other hand, everyone else tends to embrace the convenience aspect of things which is why supermarkets still rule the day and people are also uninformed or don't care what they eat even if it's filled with chemicals and dyes. When I try to promote shopping local the usual response I get, it cost too much or it's not convenient. I can generally get a large box of fresh fruits and vegetables that will last us the week for $30 therefore debunking the too costly aspect. Most vendors are willing to make some deals when buying a large enough amount.

Sort:  

$30 sounds like a pretty good deal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63935.07
ETH 3138.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87