Summer fresh pasta salad with apple cider vinaigrette + is ACV the fountain of youth?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians!

Do If you have a hectic schedule and want to meal prep or have a large group to feed at a pot luck dinner or summer bbq, it can be an overwhelming amount of time spent in the kitchen. Given my food allergies and my allergen being in everything means long hours in the kitchen too at times. With summer right around the corner, I enjoy quick refreshing dishes that take minimal effort. This is a perfect dish to maximize your time... Pasta salad!! Does healthy have to mean no carbs or anything fun? NO, I believe balance and natural ingredients and a chemical free diet is key to good health and leaves a little room to cheat with those unhealthy goodies we all enjoy.

pasta_salad.jpg

I'm sure many have heard of the health benefits of apple cider vinegar which I will elaborate below the recipe but it can be difficult to incorporate in a diet. Like many of my recipes, you can customize this one into your preference with loads of veggies or just a little bit to make it look good. In my pasta salad, I like to have half pasta and half fresh veggies with a little meat and cheese but feel free to freestyle this one to your liking. For my pasta salad, I chose to go with pizza style and used dry cured pepperoni and mozzarella cheese to make it fun. If that's not your thing, feel free to use other meats like ham, turkey or chicken, once again, add as little or as much as your heart desires. The dressing recipe below will be enough for one 375 g box of uncooked pasta.

HOME MADE ITALIAN DRESSING

  • 3/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 & 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tbs lightly dried basil
  • 1 tbs sugar, dried oregano, thyme
  • 2 tbs Ground Parmesan
  • 1 & 1/2 tbs ground mustard
  • 1 tsp onion & garlic powder, celery salt

SALAD

  • 1 -375g box of uncooked tri-color fusili
  • cherry tomatoes
  • spinach
  • mushrooms
  • red onion (diced) or green onion
  • celery
  • mozzarella cheese
  • additional ground parmesan
  • dry cured pepperoni
  • red pepper

These ingredients are just a guideline, add, remove or customize to your own taste. If you are doing this for meal prep for the week, it will last longer and be fresher if you store the cooked pasta and the dressing separately , all you have to do daily is cut and mix your veggies etc as you are ready to eat.

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Cook the full box of pasta as instructed on the box. Once cooked, strain and run under cold water, dump back into the pot and refrigerate for a few hours until cold.

  • Whisk all the dressing ingredients and allow to sit and absorb for about half hour.

  • Cut all your additional ingredients to desired size and add to the pasta, Give your dressing a quick stir to freshen it up and mix in to the salad. Salt and pepper to taste and top with the desired amount of parmesan. Easy peasy ready to eat or to take away on your day trip or potluck and bbq.

pasta_salad2.jpg

Apple cider vinegar is filled with healthy goodies. Because of it's fermentation process, it is full of healthy bacteria and enzymes that aid in digestion and maintain good digestive health. With the north-american diet full of herbicides, pesticides and chemicals used in food processing, our healthy gut bacteria diversity has been reduced and needs to be replenished, what better way than doing it naturally. Good bacteria helps control bad bacteria, ACV is know to also destroy the bad actors.

It is suggested to help regulate high blood sugar and reduce cholesterol also helping in wight loss and losing belly fat. Olive oil is also know to help with this. I'm not an expert but I do have my advanced biology and get a brief education on how the body breaks down and use certain food. The body needs a reasonable amount of fat as energy to function and will take what it needs first and discard the lesser quality excess. In other words, if you eat a reasonable amount of vegetable based healthy fats loaded with amino acids, it will help flush the bad unhealthy fats instead of storing them.

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/6-proven-health-benefits-of-apple-cider-vinegar#section3

AVC is believed to be anti fungal and can be used externally as well as internally. It is suggested to help with things like foot fungus or to regulating mild acne prone skin or help balance skin tone and oil production, even help minimize pores. Most of these external claims have inconclusive or very little research so use with care and experiment. Like any other woman, I am always on the quest for eternal youth (I know, I know...is it even possible?) and I try all these weird natural remedies just in case, why would I treat this any different!

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/323721.php

To do a proper experiment, the less variables the better so I continued my regular beloved French skin care regiment and implemented ACV into my routine.

THE EXPERIMENT

Like any day, I continued to use my usual daily face wash and after I made a diluted AVC solution Using 1 part vinegar and 2 parts water (you don't need much). After washing my face, I used the ACV/water solution and rinsed my face in it watching not to get any in my eyes (ouch, that burns) and allowed it to dry. Now I have extremely sensitive skin so I didn't want to leave it on and risk chemical burns (it is strong enough to cause such if used undiluted). Once dried, I washed it thoroughly with warm water until all the residue was washed off.

MY RESULTS

Along with sensitive skin, I also have combination skin meaning oily in the T zone (chin, nose and forehead) and dry everywhere else. Honestly, it is hard to find adequate one size fits all products to care for mixed skin. I do not have acne but I get the odd annoying pimple and on the first day of trying this, I had a big red rager on my forehead, perfect timing I guess. To add to the list of imperfections, I have a few annoying patches of psoriasis caused by my auto-immune disorder that get really itchy and flaky especially in the winter months. After one use, my skin appeared red and had me slightly concerned but after half an hour it was all gone and left a even toned glowing skin like I have never seen before, no more dry patches, no more oily patches and my skin looked perfect and not oily in the T zone, it even appeared to have minimized the appearance of pores. It felt a little tight but nothing a good moisturizer wont fix, it is part of my routine anyway.

The next day, my skin looked even better and my few psoriasis patches were no longer visible or itchy (and it has not come back yet). That big red raging pimple was also reduced to next to nothing and barely visible days ahead of what it normally should (thank goodness!) Age spots & mild freckles and dark circle(raccoon eyes) were less visible. I no longer have combination skin and it's pretty even on all of my face and the once dry skin areas are no longer itchy or dry. The few wrinkles I had were also visibly diminished along with my light laugh lines reduced the the dimples of my youth. WOW! After only one use. For the first time ever, I was pleased with the results of the simple home skin remedy and decided to continue the regiment twice a week in order to not overwhelm my sensitive skin. It has now been a month and my skin continues to be better and better with each use.

THE CONCLUSION

I will continue to use this diluted solution as I see only positive results and no negative impact on my skin after a month of twice weekly usage, it's a good test period. This may not be a good idea for everybody as we all react differently. If you decide to try this, proceed with caution and if you start to see negative effects, stop immediately to avoid skin damage. If you suffer from severe acne, consult your dermatologist before using. Do not use if you have open wounds. The type that works best is the natural ACV with the "mother"(the one with the weird floaties at the bottom). Some are bothered by the smell, believe me, my face smelled like a salad for the rest of the night but I wasn't bothered, all I suggest, don't use before going anywhere and best to use at the end of the day because of the smell, it will be gone by morning.

ACV.jpg

Disclaimer: This is only personal results and not an accredited study, use at your own risk.

Sort:  

The organic waste could be used to feed your backyard! Don't hesitate!

Do you mean the "mother"? I'll have to look into that, I have heard of that before. I do plan on becoming more self sufficient and in control of my own food source in my future plans (early retirement strategy).

I love apple cider vinegar, your pasta salad looked delicious.

I had a big red rager on my forehead, perfect timing I guess.

This made me giggle! I'm excited to see how the rest of your experiment goes!

You have received an upvote from The InnerBlocks
Self reliance and Wellness. Join us on discord

Thank you! I'm glad I made you laugh...lol, I like being silly.

I love the fact that you talk about food, I love eating.

Eating is awesome!! French culture revolves around food!

Hi ladybug146,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hello there @ladybug146!

First of all that is a sumptuous good-looking and yummy looking pasta salad!! Makes me want to get a plate for that. Noodles are my weakness, including any forms of pasta! And to top it all, you had made a very healthy and less time preparation kind of meal. What could we ask for?? There is no excuse not take on this pasta.

I have heard of the great benefits of apple cider especially to those who are into healthy eating. Its great that you had incorporated it in a pasta meal. Just really percect!

Thanks for sharing this healthy and still delicious pasta. I might make use of your recipe one day.

Cheers! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!! I hope you get to make great use of it. It's always a hit in this house and as you mentioned, minimal effort required for anybody with a busy schedule, can be the main dish or a side dish. I personally don't like vegetables that much taste wise so I look for tasty ways to incorporate them in my meals and make them more appealing.

It is really great, but in my household it is only me and my hubs who will consume it! My kids arent a fan of pasta salad. They would rather go over with pasta and the creamy sauce.

Yeeeeeess! To vegetables that doesnt taste like vegetables hahahahaha 😂🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

It's only me and @silvergingerman here and we passed the recipe in about 4 days. They prefer the creamy sauce cause they are young!! I used to be that way, well I still am but I end up with the overfull feeling and get grossed out fast from cream sauce now. I must be getting old...haha :)

Hahaha true.. when we were younger we ate up too many creamy pasta and among others... and now we are trying to avoid that stuff and prefer all greens if possible haha..

Posted using Partiko Android

I like salads and pasta as well, so this two in one is perfect for me. All the ingredients are good, so I see no reason why not have it? I used to do similar ones, with all kind of vegetables, depending on what I could put my hands on.
I know apple cider vinegar, that's the only one I'm using because that's the healthiest in my opinion, but have never heard of this treatment you're describing here. Sorry to hear about your psoriasis caused by the auto-immune disorder. That must be very unpleasant but I'm glad you have now a healthy remedy that works for you. I believe in homemade treatments and there is proof that they can work if you're doing it right.
I wish you to get healthy, and I'm hoping this treatment is going to work long term.

I'm definitely a pasta (and pepperoni!) person myself and could eat it everyday but it makes me feel bad physically if I eat too much, I work hard at incorporating things I enjoy mixed with loads of healthy ingredients to work nicely to counteract the issues it causes so I don't have to cut things I like out completely. Apple cider vinegar is really helpful with digestion to my experience.

I was skeptical of apple cider vinegar when I first started looking into it myself and thought it was an old wives tale but after seeing grandmas that looked more youthful then the next generation, I started to wonder, maybe they are on to something, although it's not really proven or disproved with science, if it works it works!! But I agree doing it right is important to avoid internal or external damage. I hope it works long term too, both health wise and beauty wise!

Balance is the key to everything, no matter how good and healthy a food is if abused, it can have serious consequences, unfortunately. My dad has a garden, so we have fresh and healthy vegetables during summer. You can imagine how it tastes, homegrown and cared for. Nothing like what you can buy from the supermarket :) I love salads, all kind of it and try to eat as much vegetables as I can.
My brother loves apple cider vinegar, he's having it with every soup and also drinking it as it is, one tablespoon from time to time. He's consulted the doctor about it to be sure it won't hurt and the doctor said it's ok as long as it's a reasonable quantity.
I'm glad it works for you and hope it works long term. it's not a good feeling when something fails and you have to look for another solution and experiment again :)
Have a nice weekend and steem on! :)

Fresh veggies are the best! Growing up, we grew our own food, I hope to return to that when I'm ready to slowdown with my career. For now I live in the city so my backyard doesn't grow much.

I never thought of having it with soup, I'll have to try that. of course a resonable amount is best, too much can be detrimental, Aple cider vinegar is very strong! Have a nice weekend too !! xox

Thank you!! 😘

Apple cider vinegar is a must in the kitchen for me and I know it is hard to incorporate into most dishes. This seems ideal though and it looks very healthy. I am glad you are getting on top of your health disorder and home remedies are sometimes the best option.

I found in my journey, the healthcare system have not been very helpful for me sending me on a merry go round of things that don't work. By the time I was 20, I had a bunch of medications to treat individual symptoms, then more medication for side effects from medication. I had enough and went on a journey of trial and error and found my auto-immune became easier to manage with food and nature and have much less "attacks" with a minimal chemical/gmo diet. I'm not suggesting anyone ditch their doctors or medicines but there is no harm in finding natural ways to help minimize certain symptoms.

I totally agree with you and as much as I hate medication you can always try and help yourself finding other things to help you improve. eating correctly is one thing, but finding things that help and make you feel better is more important.

yes for sure!

Congratulations @ladybug146! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 900 replies. Your next target is to reach 1000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hello! I have just featured one of your images that you submitted to my 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge as part of my Appics initiative. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday.

Appics featured 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge by @ladybug146

Thank you for you great help and advertisement of my blog @czechglobalhost!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99