Food Facials

in #food6 years ago

BENEFITS OF FOOD FACIALS

Getting a facial at home is one of my favorite things to do to give life to my skin when it is dry or just to pamper myself . The best facials in my opinion are located in your kitchen. Do You really think anything else can rival the simpler stuff? I think not. Take milk for example.

Milk

Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 1.08.58 PM.png

Image Source

Milk has long been used to refresh the skin of royals. Did you know CLeopatra is believed to have stayed youthful due to milk baths? It is true that it really works. Milk has lactic acid in it that acts as a gentle exfoliator to get rid of superficial dead skin and reveal youthful looking skin beneath.
How do you used a milk facial?
I personally used a mixture of Milk, olive oil and honey together. You can let this mixture sit on your face for as long as you want. In fact you can leave in on all day. Its all edible as you know and the results are truly noticeable. This method can be used twice or more a week depending on your needs.

Chocolate facials

Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 1.14.52 PM.png
Image Source

This may sound a little out there, but i can assure you chocolate does wonders for your skin because it has vitamin C and anti oxidants. Chocolate face masks are usually recommended for people with dry skin. For best results apply once to twice a month. Just like milk facials you can use them as often as you want without worry about side effects or a reaction- unless you have some allergy. You can leave it on for at least 15 minutes then scrub it and rinse.
I generally do not use soap to wash off my food facial because well... its food. It really your choice, you can wash it off with soap if you want.

You can also do tomato facial. They are rich in anti oxidants and help to fight free radical. I read an article once about an ageless looking asian lady who swears by tomato facials. To do it is pretty straight forward. you can blend it or cut it up and apply slices to your face.

Cuccumber

Cuccumber is really great around your eye area. As you may have seen in some commercials, ladies put facials on and around their eye area. this helps to take away the puffy look around the eye.

Others worth noting are coconut milk, tumeric, eggs, avocadoes- has omega3 which helps with skin cracks. Infact most foods can be used as a facial and the simple reason is that they nourish you from the inside and so they can be used on the outside as well. It is great to do this so you can see for yourself how your body reacts to each food on the outside of your skin.

  • olive oil is also anti inflammatory while loaded with antioxidants
  • Avocado is rich in monounsaturated fats, vitamin B and potassium that can also help moisturize the skin and act as an exfoliating mask for dry skin.
  • Milk is rich in alpha hydroxy acids, calcium and other potent antioxidants, has so many skin benefits.
  • Chocolate is rich in flavonols, which are antioxidants that help your skin protect itself from UV damage, fight free radicals and increase blood flow.

At the end of the day you want to remember to drink adequate amounts of water as that is just as important as any of your skin care regimes.
Do you use any of these already at home?
Do you use something else? maybe a secret passed down from generation. please share with us.
Thanks for stopping by.

references
http://www.youbeauty.com/nutrition/dark-chocolate-benefits/
https://bellatory.com/skin/Top-5-Skin-Benefits-of-Raw-Milk-Beauty-Tips
http://www.herbhedgerow.co.uk/milk-natural-beauty-throughout-history/

Sort:  

This is a basically what I need right now.
I have been sick for some weeks now due to school stress and other stuff that was why I haven't been on steemit for a while.

Within those times I was sick I really didn't have time to stare at the mirror, surprisingly two days back I recorded a dlive video of myself and while watching the playback I could noticed my facial skin was not looking as it used to be.

Between you and I, I have been really scared.
I really don't want to lose my youthful look.

I have tried milk facials before but been years ago and it was due to my inquisitive nature when I saw my cousin sister applying some weird stuff on her face and I thought I'd give it a try too lol.
I think I will try some of this facials.

As a guy hope I can use this?

Of course you can use it @jacobite. It should work wonders for you as well especially if you use it consistently.
I’m happy to see that you are back here feeling better. Glad to have you back.

Thanks a bunch @leggy23.

Will definitely give it a try.
It's nice to be back.

It looks yummy... ha ha!

Well you can eat the left overs.🤫I usually do.

Good for you!

I personally used a mixture of Milk, olive oil and honey together.

Aside the olive oil. I like taking milk and also honey is something I cant resist. It is definitely interesting to know they are useful for the body outward treatment.

Truly amazing indeed.

It is correct, most of these resources are found in our kitchen. I was already aware of how beneficial olive oil was, and avocado, as they are excellent for hydration in the body. The important thing is to let it act the necessary time and then the results will arrive.

Yup, the longer you leave it on the better.

That's awesome, I agreed homemade facial is best for our skin, I've also used milk sometimes on my face, it's just amazing for my skin and I've dry skin.
But i found something new in your blog chocolate. I never tried but now i want to try on my face ;-) Let me add one thing you never wash your face with soap after applying any home-remedies.
here's mine article Homemade facial

Thanks for sharing that with us. Let me know how your chocolate facial regimen works.

Hi @leggy23, your content was very useful and I agree with you, there are many natural methods that we can use to improve our skin and that are really better, the one I use is:

Sugar and lemon to exfoliate the skin
Put two tablespoons of sugar in a cup and add the juice of half a lemon. After washing the face, with the face still wet, apply the mixture to the face with circular movements. Leave on for 5 minutes and wash with warm water.

Never tried lemon, it seems to me like it might be abrasive.

if it can be, but it works for me personally, it is recommended

These methods are 100% recommended, thanks for sharing, they are very useful, the method that I can share that has personally been of great help is: exfoliate the skin with honey and oats
Mix a quarter cup of oatmeal with a teaspoon of honey. After washing your face, with your face still wet, apply the mixture and let it act for 15 minutes. Wash with warm water and go!

Sounds like a good one. Very hydrating. I might try that next time.

Hahhahaa....at first in my life here to know chocolate facial....really this people are so crazy and funny too...this idea makes me laugh....One things to know..it is essential to male or female??..or both 😂😂😂😂😂

Both male and female can reap the benefits of a facial. Try it, you might love it.

Okk..thanks for your suggestions

Very interesting and good your recommendations today friend Legry the skin we have to take care of it very well and if we can do it with natural products it is better.

I really enjoy the contents of your post,
Your work is great

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94