Brazilian Hybrid Style Picanha Steak Carnivore Recipe

in #food5 years ago (edited)

I've not shared much in regards to recipes since going carnivore partially because in many ways I had to relearn to cook. When left with only meat and fat I realized that I didn't even know how to properly cook a steak.

Now six months as a carnivore I'm finally officially getting my bearings. Picanha is one of my favorite steaks and recently I've been doing this home made play on the brazilian method.

This is how it starts, the picanha is the top cap of the sirloin piece of the cow, the best part is in the very tip. It was salted and set on a rack on a plate in the open air in the fridge overnight before this was taken.

Then I sliced it like this, they're usually best about an inch thick. I saw in a video that picanha is best as steaks, but I also like the ideas of skewers so I improvised. Usually if they're cooked on skewers the pieces are much thicker.

So I just put them like this onto grill skewers. The curved shaping is important for a moist and tasty end product.

To grill, start by getting only half the grill hot. Lay the steaks on the cool side of the grill to start and cook flipping occasionally for about 20 minutes. Then move to the hot side, sear on both sides and allow to rest about 10 minutes. Serve!

Check out the links below for more like this one!

World Carnivore Month: Indian Cow Hump Meat is Poor Man's Waygu
Life is Sweeter without Sugar
World Carnivore Month: Day 15

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco Sunset: Pink and Blue January
Anarchaforko Anarchapulco Fork Update: What You Need to Know Right Now About the Fork
Satoshi Love

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63138.90
ETH 3290.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89