Jasmine and Sencha Green Tea: How to Relax with Sweet Smelling Flowers

in #food6 years ago

There just aren't many things I know of that make me start drooling the way a freshly opened jasmine flower does. We have a bush here that flowered hard the first year we were here and got us hooked on the smell of the inconspicuous white flowers. Last year they got hit hard by cut ants and after several poison sessions with the source John's managed to keep them at bay so it can grow back and flower again.

We aren't really into the use of pesticides for the most part save for certain scenarios generally involving ants and mosquitos. We try to keep it as natural as possible but if needed we will eliminate some ants in the name of delicious flowers.

We smelled these blossoms the other night and I immediately made tea despite the late hour.

Just a simple sencha green tea and jasmine blend....

Finished with a bit of revive honey blend complete with pollen, royal jelly and propolis.

I had no idea that jasmine's actually a relative to the olive. It's fairly easy to grow other than the fact that cut ants love to feed it to their fungus. Once deterred it grows with abandon though, I intend to clone it and reproduce it when it stops it's flowering cycle.

I looked into the health benefits and of course there are lists telling you it cures everything out there but it mentions things like insomnia, anxiety and such claiming a sedative effect. Now in my opinion just the smell of it is calming, so I can understand how drinking it can be really relaxing.

It might just be placebo due to those terpenes, but I feel significantly more relaxed enjoying the cup that I started while editing the photos for this post.

Check out the links below for more like this one!

Natural Health: 5 Elements Super Nutrient Bee Product Blend
Mezcal: Learning About a Mexican Tradition
Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Wads

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Mexico City Madness: Waiting for Silkies, No Luz (Lights) and a Dready Dog
Acapulco Sunsets: Cool Before and After Shots from Learning Editing from John
Mexico City Madness: Urban City Shots 1

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98