Our First Chicken Harvest: Story and Roast Recipe

in #food6 years ago

This post is both a recipe and story. The chicken you see in the photo is one from our farm, harvested today. We ended up killing four total, picking and choosing the worst behaved of our birds. We originally intended to take five, but kept one alive because of her demeaner. Her flock didn't seem upset to see her again when we put her back in her enclosure.

Here's a shot of them before we cleaned them because I think it's important to remind people where food comes from. The bird I ended up cooking tonight is the large black and white one. He was kind of an ass to his ladies and me as well. He was also over a year old which made his meat tough and gamy. The others were taken for the following reasons: general asshole behavior, raping of ducks and other birds, human and bird aggression, cannabalistic traits. One of them was a naked necked chicken with a bad foot who has seriously maimed every friend she's had despite her injury.

Three are frozen. The one we ate had tougher texture than any chicken I've had, which explains why people suggest you eat younger birds.

I put him in the instant pot with a simple herb and dijon mustard spice rub for an hour and forgot to add a bit of water to the pot. If you don't add enough moisture to the instant pot it won't pressurize so it doesn't really cook. I ended up having to add a cup of water later and re cook for 35 minutes on high pressure. After it was done I put it on top of some parmesan rice I plan to share the recipe to another time and some parmesan cheese. I put it in the oven to broil for about 10 minutes for a crispy crust on the bird.

This was the first time I personally have ever killed anything for food. It was a humbling experience and while it was hard to do it didn't exactly leave me running to the hills to quit eating meat or even chicken farming. It has made me want to waste less meat.

I have three birds in the freezer and we have plans to take more birds in the future of both chickens and ducks. It's been a year and we could have harvested some before now but haven't due to lack of time and other things. Now we are dealing with lack of space in our enclosures and lack of peace among the flock. Compound that with the fact that there are some babies that will be growing up that we raised that need a place to go, it's time to make room for the new generation.

I thought it'd be harder to choose which ones to take and to do the deed in general. Having raised birds I actually see it as humane to kill most birds unless they're pampered pets around a year old. After that they start getting health issues and the meat is not as palatable.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza
Goat Cheese Lasanga
Turtle Brownie Cups

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco's Best Kept Secret: Palma Sola Archeological Site 7
Cobalt Blue Acapulco Petroglyph Inspired Pipe and Pendant Set
Acapulco's Best Kept Secret: Palma Sola Archeological Site 6

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

So the answer to "how to make a mean chicken roast" is to start with mean chickens?

Yessss seems to be the answer

I just started using new tags for recipes and this came up. I had no idea how extensive the #food tag is! Nice and thank you!

I think your instant pot ... used according to the directions ... should make even a fairly tough bird more tender. I have heard that pressure cooking does tenderize meat. It looks delicious, nevertheless.

Yes. The butchering of your own meat is challenging, but I agree with you. I respect my meat much more now that we grow our own. Thanks for the reminder.

I think you are likely right but I would need to cook for a lot longer than I ended up doing.

lovely and quite inviting. I love eating chicken,chicken is a good source of protein that's lower in saturated fat than some red and processed meats. Great post

Old birds make most tasty soup.

Cross X make very tasty fried chicken. And they are harvested about 18 weeks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98