No Acne lazy smoothiesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I've had acne most of my life. I really hoped that it will last only the teen years. On my 16th birthday I thought that it will be over soon, the same on 18th, 20th...
I tried to not to use makeup, tried to use the natural cosmetics and also I've used massively cheap makeup products. There wasn't a difference, it was obvious that the problem isn't from the 'outside'.

My doctor suggested to use hormonal medicine, but it seemed too harsh to mess with hormones just to get rid of pimples.

I used to follow a cabbage soup diet (don't do this!) and then my skin cleared perfectly, but that diet plan doesn't work on along term.

So long story short, I found out that the big reason is DAIRY products. And I love latte, yoghurts, cheese, milk, butter, cottage cheese, did I mentioned latte? We use so much dairy in our diets in Latvia, it's almost impossible to go to a normal restaurant and get something without dairy. And also I'm a bit struggling to change my diet, because I'm too lazy to cook long hours, so now I'm trying to experiment a lot with simple recipes.

One of my favorite morning smoothies is this banana-blackcurrant mix with rice milk.

20170922_135501.jpg

So all you need is a banana, blackcurrants (they are extremely rich with antioxidants) and rice milk or whichever vegan milk you prefer.

20170922_133051.jpg

Put all these ingredients in a glass or blender. If you want a sweeter taste, honey is a great addition.

20170922_133352.jpg

And I'm really lazy.. :)
20170922_133933.jpg

Also you can froze banana and blackcurrants before blending, then you will get more like a ice cream stucture.

20170922_134454.jpg

Do you have your favorite vegan smoothie?

Cheers!
@lindaraar

Sort:  

Remove your flag from my post.

I suffered heavily in my teenage years and only a little in adult years. Diet does make the biggest difference in the adult years especially with healthy eating.
In my case what helped in the teenage years was ro-accutane prescribed by the doctors and then getting rid of the acne scars later in life I had a few fraxel laser treatments. Using papaya soap once in a while also helps with deeper cleansing.

It's probably the biggest problem with acne, that there isn't a one recipe that helps to all. For some people drinking a lot of water is enough, but some need to fight it very seriously.
I'm more in the middle range, without dairy I got acne under control, not that my skin is completely perfect, but not that bad as it used to be.
Haven't heard about papaya soup, thanks for sharing! :)

Congratulations @lindaraar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey everyone, @lindaraar is a flag abuser. She flags blogs for no reason.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75