Homemade threshed corn arepas

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hello my friends of steemit, today I want to share with you the corn arepas threshed.


Due to the crisis in my country, you can no longer find precooked cornmeal on the shelves of supermarkets and when they sell it, huge queues are made, making it difficult to buy it in order to make the traditional arepa or empanadas that we Venezuelans are used to, especially for breakfast.

I have noticed that in my city they are replacing it with other alternatives: yucca arepas, auyama, topocho and threshed corn arepas, which was the one that caught my attention the most. I decided to make it at home, even though they sell the dough already prepared in several places, they offer it at high costs, making it at home is healthier, it is fresh and you save money to satisfy other needs.

To achieve this goal took some time and hard work which I really enjoyed doing during the making process.

Procedure for the elaboration:

1)The desired amount of white corn to be processed is obtained, which is achieved through a machine known as a threshing machine. This process consists of removing the shell of the corn to achieve its polishing, once the corn is threshed it is processed to the next step. It is worth noting that I did not take a picture of the thresher because the owners did not allow me to do so.

2)The grains are chosen by removing the beaks, I used a sieve with the big holes to make the process faster, this will depend on the taste of each person.


3)The maize is washed, this procedure is carried out several times until the water is clean, thus eliminating any impurities present.


4)It is placed to boil for 15 or 20 minutes, then it is left to rest and then passed through the strainer leaving it like this.


5)You pass through the mill, in my case I used a manual mill, while I was grinding I was collecting with a spoon the dough from the mill that came out from the sides to prevent it from being lost and yield more product.


6)Is well kneaded for several minutes, gradually adding the water so that the dough compacts and the arepas can be made.


7)When the dough is ready, add the arepas to cook. After a few minutes, turn them over to cook on the other side.


8)After a few minutes, the arepas are ready.


The filling depends on the taste of each person, I stuffed it with chicken and accompanied it with a cup of coffee. This is a simple and easy recipe to prepare, I hope you like it and will be encouraged to try it.


Thanks for stopping by my blog, I look forward to your comments.

@livia

Sort:  

Yo quiero unaaa!!

Si son muy ricas y saludables @osdabrito, te invito a realizar el proceso. Saludos!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by livia28 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

ME ENCANTO EL PROCEDIMIENTO Y SOBRE TODO EL PRODUCTO FINAL @livia28 GRACIAS POR ESTA RECETA.. SALUDOS Y EXITOS

que bueno que te gusto @lisetblanco con la situación que estamos viviendo nos percatamos que se pueden realizar las arepas facilmente si no tienes harina pan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70