Vegan Fish 'n Chips at The Coach & Horses

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Well, I've been a very bad eater this week.. I haven't really cooked anything myself and it's slowly turning into one of those weeks where you wonder if you're becoming a junk food vegan! 🤔


555.jpg


The upside is that I've had quite a social week and that is what has been to blame for my less than sensible food choices. Today I met some friends in town and we decided to go for a pub lunch. We ended up in the Coach and Horses, a modest traditional pub on the corner of Soho's bustling Dean Street and Romilly Street.


1.jpeg


I've been to this pub many times in the past but haven't eaten there before. It is actually London's first (and only) fully vegetarian pub, and has recently introduced vegan options to it's menu. Wahey!


22.jpeg


3.jpeg

'London's first vegetarian and vegan pub'

The pub is very unpretentious, and since opening in 1847 has remained a popular watering hole amongst Soho's more trendy bars and clubs due to it's down to earth friendly atmosphere. It is really the definitive London boozer!

11.jpeg

2.jpeg


The Coach and Horses has become well known in recent months for its now signature dish- Tofush and Chips. I couldn't resist giving it a try!


4.jpeg


I was really intrigued to try this, fish and chips is a traditional favourite in England and something that I haven't ever tried in a veganised form. And well, what can I say- it arrived and certainly looked the part!


5.jpeg


The Whitstable ale batter definitely gave the 'fush' an authentic crispy texture. The tofu was really well cooked, and that, along with the homemade tartar sauce really hit the spot though I was a little disappointed that the seaweed didn't have a very strong flavour.

8.jpeg


Other than that though, the chips were great and the whole meal combined was super satisfying and certainly curbed my fish and chips craving!


My friend went for the Goulash Pie: Tomato stew with paprika and soya pieces served with savoy cabbage mash and vegan gravy. I didn't try any of the pie as I was fully concentrating on my own meal!

7.jpeg


I'd really recommend this pub to any vegans visiting London, it's really a great little place with a long history, serving up modernised versions of typical English 'pub grub' and it's just so amazing to see even small pubs engaging with veganism and answering the demand for more plant based food! 😀

1.jpeg


I hope you liked this post, if you did please upvote, comment, resteem and follow me on @lolzwithlisa for more vegan food and travel posts.


Sort:  

I definitely have veggie junk food weeks!!
That pub looks freaking awesome.

Hehe glad I'm not the only one! 😃

WOW! It looks so nice!

Who cares about eating 100% healthy if you can enjoy a good meal with friends!

Very true! Do think I need to be a bit healthier next week- I've had a few too many portions of chips this week 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95