Bone Soup

in #food6 years ago

Bone Soup

I noticed 3 things that I didn’t remember seeing before.
1 Bone broth supplement.
2 Most meat in the store is sold bone less.
3 I didn’t see any soup bones in the meat department.

What are the benefits of bone broth?
This is what I found out.
Bone broth is rich in minerals that support the immune system and contains healing compounds like collagen, glutamine, glycine and proline. The collagen in bone broth heals your gut lining and reduces intestinal inflammation.

I remember my grandmother made bone soup.
So I decided to try and make some. The first thing I needed to do was get some soup bones. I ask the meat man at the store if I could get some soup bones. He said that they get all their meat from the slaughterhouse already deboned. I checked for them at a couple other stores and they said the same thing.
I then went to a farmer friend who I knew sent cows to a place that cut up the meat for his own use. I asked him if he could get some soup bones the next time he had a cow butchered so I could make some soup bone soup. He said if he remembered he would ask them to save some soup bones.
Later that night he called me and his wife had a couple packages of soup bones in the freezer and said I could have them just stop by and pick them up.

Now that I got the soup bones it’s time to make some soup.
I unwrapped the soup bones and placed them in a cake pan. They looked like neck bones sawed in half with some meat still on the bone.

I gave them a coating of olive oil and put them in the oven at 300 F for 2 hours.

Then I put them in a large slow cooker covered them with about 1” of water.

After cooking them on low for 24 hours.

I let it cool off a bit and took the bones and meat out of the slow cooker. When picking through the meat to put back in the cooker. I found several small bones. You will want to be careful to get all the small bones out.

I then added some vegetables that I got from my garden last summer. Zucchini Green Beans Broccoli Tomatoes My last small rutabaga Potato Onion Garlic

I added some salt and crushed oregano and cooked on low for another 4 hours.
I had a bowl of my bone soup and put the rest in containers to freeze for later.




_________________________________________________________________

Thank-you for taking the time to read my posts.

I really appreciate you for doing that.

Read more of my stuff @lostmymarbles

If you like the post, please encourage me with an Upvote and share my stuff by Resteeming or Sharing a link on your favorite Social Network sites.

Sort:  

My wife makes great bone broth from all our meat sources. It's so nutritious for you. Thanks for sharing.

Yes, this was my first try at it. I think I will make some from chicken next.

Chicken is the best too!

Excellent article and recipe! My daughter introduced me to bone broth and now I'm hooked...

Thank you for contributing your knowledge to help others! This post has been added to the Sotall.org Directory of Self Sufficiency & Survival posts. One of our goals is to provide access to the knowledge of our fellow Steamians, that will still be seen, long after the 7 day period is passed. If you write any future articles with instructions on how to do any tasks related to a homestead or survival, to ensure they are added to the directory, please submit them. They will be added as soon as possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75