Homemade Graham Crackers

in #food5 years ago

IMG_1415-1.JPG

I've always wanted to make my own graham crackers and when I was grocery shopping, I came across bags of graham flour. This was the perfect opportunity for me to make some cookies.

IMG_1465.JPG

Since it's Halloween, I used my Halloween cookie cutters to make some fun shaped ones. If you can't find Graham flour, you can substitute it with whole wheat flour. Graham flour is ground more coarsely. It also contains the germ, oil and fiber from the whole wheat kernel, making this flour more flavorful than regular whole wheat flour. source.

Graham Crackers

adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/3 cups graham flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of kosher salt
  • 1 cup Earth Balance or any vegan margarine
  • 2/3 cup dark brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp brown rice syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Whisk together the dry ingredients into a small bowl and set aside. Cream the margarine with the sugar, brown rice syrup and vanilla extract. Mix in the dry ingredients. Wrap the dough in plastic and chill for at least 1 hr.

IMG_1467.JPG

Roll the dough onto a slightly floured surface and cut into desired shapes. Brush the tops of the cookies with some non diary milk and sprinkle with some cinnamon sugar. To make cinnamon sugar, whisk together 3 tbsp of granulated sugar and 2 tsp ground cinnamon.

IMG_1464.JPG

Bake in a preheated 325 degrees F oven for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown. These are great on their own or you can eat them with your favorite nut spread. Happy Halloween!

IMG_1414-1.JPG

Sort:  

Ohhh! yummy!

It had a great time making my first batch of graham crackers. Thanks @digi-me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11