Love at first Bite

in #food6 years ago

I spent some time in Hermanus at the end of May for some downtime. My father and stepmom live there and because they are so far away I don't get to see them regularly enough.

They spoilt me all weekend long. I had a break from being a wife and a mom and could just focus on resting and recharging my batteries. I read, ate and slept to my heart's content.

On the Saturday my father made us a Pork Belly, my first time ever having it, and to make you understand just how good it was, I put it on our monthly shopping list and my hubby can't wait to give it a try.

You start off by putting the fat side towards the flame and you keep it there until the fat goes crispy, like crackling. You then turn it around so that the meat side can cook.

The meat took about an hour until it was done.
I loved how he used indirect heat to cook it. The meat was tender and juicy and the crackling crackled, just like it should....

What are you braaiing (bbq'ing) this weekend? I am working the entire weekend at the Fire and Feast Festival, so will be braaiing and sampling meat all weekend long, but I promise to post pics of my hubby's first attempt at Pork Belly. Until then, keep the coals warm.

Sort:  

looks delicious ... I use this method to do lamb ribs too #YUMMY!!!

Pork belly is one our favourites too. I haven't seen it done quite like this before. My husband normally smokes ours in our smoker and it comes out like one big piece of bacon.

That looks delicious @luckylie I cooked pork the first time when away recently using fillet that had been marinated with some fresh chilli's turned out very good (to my surprise) normally a braai is steak chops, and wors, nice to get fresh ideas.

Looks amazing! I also enjoy a bit of beans and mash with braai meat. Well.. what's not to like? Braai meat goes with anything! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62