The LuLu Lifestyle: KFC: adventures in fried chicken

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I love fried chicken. I was in Georgia for a month this summer and ate fried chicken twice a week (this is why I will never be skinny, lol)), the entire time I was there. My Brit bf (who will be known as The Brit from now on) loves KFC of the Kentucky fried version. I also love KFC but the one in England where he's at sucks. Nowhere near as good as the American version and nothing as good as the fried chicken they make in the south.

While eating out at a Korean restaurant earlier in the summer we ordered Korean fried chicken, my favorite KFC. Unfortunately, it wasn't true KFC (they said it was authentic Korean, it wasn't. I lived in Korea for two years). I was disappointed that The Brit didn't get to enjoy the deliciousness of KFC.

I've always been scared to deep fry but I wanted The Brit to try some great fried chicken so I had to find a recipe and do it myself. While searching for fried chicken wing recipes (I prefer the wings) I came across a recipe for KFC and decided to give it a try. Normally I don't like to watch videos, I prefer to read the directions but since deep frying is so new to me, I watched the video and I think it helped me. Here's the recipe I used. It's one of the most popular recipes on her site. This is a great website for Korean food. I've also made her jap chae and it was fantastic.

https://www.maangchi.com/recipe/easy-dakgangjeong

The secret to KFC is the chicken is double fried, which means it's time consuming. But KFC is so good, it's worth it. The chicken skin stays crispy even with a sauce on it and even after it's been refrigerated. The sauce is spicy, sweet and sticky. Just what I wanted. I did use fresh Thai chilis instead of dried peppers because I have a bunch of them and I omitted the sesame seeds.

IMG_0031.JPG

Because I rent a room I put the food onto a tray that we eat on my bed. I loaded a plate full of wings and we ate all of it. I also filled his lunch bag with wings that he said stayed crispy (just don't reheat in the microwave). I was bummed I sent all of the KFC with him because I wanted more the next day.

The Brit says this is the best fried chicken he's ever had and we loved them so much, I made it again a week later.

PS: I will work on taking more food pics in the future.

Sort:  

Hi, lulumann! I just resteemed your post!
I can also re-steem and upvote some of your other posts


Curious? Check out @resteembot's' introduction post
PS: If your reputation is lower than 30 re-blogging with @resteembot only costs 0.001 SBD

Hi, lulumann! I just resteemed your post!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot.
If you want to know more about me, read my introduction post.
Good Luck!

You are more than welcome to come to my house in Portland OR and cook up some wings. I'll trade for a place to crash? ;P
Those look Amazing!

Thank you for the invite for me to come cook for you @doctortypo, lol. I have a great friend who lives in Portland and she has an extra room and is a great cook so I usually stay with her. Maybe you can get an invite. :)

LMAO! Love it! There's a wonderful restaurant in Portland that has some fantastic Vietnamese style fried chicken, the stick to your teeth kind. I'll see if I can get the name of it from my friend if you want it. My favorite thing about Portland is the amazing restaurants.

Oh yes indeed! Plenty to choose from. My favorite spicy Korean chicken wing is at Migration Brewery on Glisan.

I haven't been to Portland in way too long but it's amazing how awesome the brewery food is there, and the happy hours!

I'm waiting to hear back from my friend. Will let you know what she says and pass along your tip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66