Cheap Healthy College Student Meal : Mashed Potatoes But With Coconut Milk

in #food6 years ago (edited)

As promised, today I am sharing my recipe how to make creamy mashed potatoes.Prior to this, I never made it myself. I thought it was going to be time consuming. Not to mention, I did not know how to eat them if not without meat. Since, I am venturing on a journey cutting back my meat consumption, I finally found that it's actually taste good served with grilled vegetables.

What makes this recipe different from conventional mashed potatoes out there is that, I change the milk to coconut milk. It's not that difficult to find it here. But, if it's difficult for you to find coconut milk, I suggest using milk is also alright.

So, if you are short on cash and having someone coming over, simply make this and buy a doritos. Well, this mashed potatoes makes a good salsa dip too.

Mashedpotatoesrecipecard.jpg

Notes :

  • I peeled the potatoes first and chopped them to small pieces
  • During the boiling process make sure to add seasoning such as salt, garlic powder or white pepper, don't be stingy. Potatoes love seasoning.
  • I am cooking this mashed potatoes with rice cooker and to me it looks like a gourmet meal already.
  • This recipe can feed about 3-4 people.


If you try this recipe, don't forget to tell me. Also, if you want me to keep sharing college food hack, give me a feedback or ideas. I appreciate them.

If you get addicted with this recipe, don't blame me. It's delicious.

Sort:  

Sounds pretty good to me :>)

My advice would be to add the seasoning after cooking, just before mashing.
As part of it will wash away, when you drain the water.

This reminds me of a favorite of mine when I had little money to spend:

Potato-leek soup.
Cook peeled potatoes, in small pieces ( add some vegetable broth to it ). Add the leek ( cut in rings ) when the potatoes are cooking about 5 to 10 minutes. After cooking, let the soup cool off and blend it until it's smooth. Add loads of pepper. Serve it with some sour cream ( coconut milk would work too ) and parsley.

Eat it with bread and ( French ) cheese

Enjoy! :>)

Oh, yes I added them before mashing as well. Like I mentioned, potatoes love seasoning. hehe
Thank you for your recipe, I will have to try that next :-D

This post has been curated by the VostokArmy.
Thank you for joining us and interacting on the VostokArmy Discord server!

It looks like a tasty recipe @macchiata!

But my favorite potatoes are always going to be french fries :P

for sure :-D you might want to try that and eat it with doritos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86