Hard to believe, but I'm 39, and this is the first steak I've ever cooked

in #food6 years ago

fullsizeoutput_6bb.jpeg

I was vegetarian since 1994 (when I was 15) and vegan until April of this year. Shocking, huh?

Anyway, this is a filet mignon I got from Butcher Box, which is a service I use to get high-quality meat delivered fresh. Seared in a cast iron skillet and baked at 400ºF until medium rare. Basted with garlic butter during the searing. I didn't have to work today, and I made this for myself for lunch. It was amazing.

Sort:  

I have never cooked steak too. But also, I have never eat it !

Welcome to rest of the food chain! ;)

They look delicious! Looks like a good lunch to me....not bad for someone who hasn't cooked it before.

Thanks! That's exactly what it was for me, a great lunch. I am looking forward to trying again and improving my skills with time. I was mostly worried about accidentally overcooking it. That's what I did with everything I cooked at first after decided to add meat back into my diet after such a long time. I was a little paranoid about food safety and got pretty extreme with my cooking times. A little bit of time on YouTube, and I had all the tips I needed, though, and it's been much better lately.

great job looks good keep it up

@marksheppard you're welcome could you follow me please

welcome to the club.

It's appealing to the eye haha my bestfriend doesn't even like cooking
But why did you change ?

@imohsaviourwisdo I was curious about that too. Thanks for asking. :)

@marksheppard that looks amazing! Was it grass fed? I used to coach the Bulletproof Diet. It's amazing how the right foods can truly "turn on" your brain and reboot health. Glad you found something that worked for you. Way to go!

Thanks! Yes, it was grass fed and grass finished beef.

I believe excluding meat and all animal products was having a negative effect on my physical and mental health. It was hard to finally come to that conclusion, but I'm glad I did.

It's good you're working to find what works best for you. I've known a few "O" blood type (the type which requires the most animal proteins in their diet) vegans and they all share the same characteristics (after a few years):

  • Poor quality hair
  • Low strength finger/toe nails
  • Difficulty maintaining a happy attitude

Kudos and great health in your new venture! :D

Okay... Nice steak anyway

Interesting. What changes did you notice in your body and/or energy after eating meat for the first time in so long?

You just nailed it ,your post have nice content .
Thanks for sharing your post with us. I just had followed and upvote on post. Sharing is caring

Thank you so much!

Thanks for reply ,please follow me and upvote my post ...thanks in advance

it look yummy i like when it medium cook like this

Loading...

Really delicious food, i prefer this meat weel done, good photo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62668.08
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58