Cooking With Duck Eggs: Light and Fluffy Mascarpone Cupcakes

in #food5 years ago

You haven't had the world's best homemade cupcake until you've had Mascarpone Cupcakes. This is the only cupcake I will bake because they are so delicious no other recipe can compare in how good they taste. They are incredibly moist, light, and fluffy. The cake is so good you don't need icing.

Now that three out of four of my sweet ducks are laying eggs I've got a surplus. It's so eggciting to have a surplus of eggs so I can bake my little heart out without having to go to the store and spend money on eggs. I've been experimenting with my favorite recipes to see how well baked goods taste with duck eggs instead of chicken eggs. Most people claim the duck eggs are better for baking than chicken eggs and so far I tend to agree.

Fresh Duck Eggs

IMG_8638.JPG

Right now the size of my duck eggs vary because all the ducks are new at laying. Most eggs are the size of chicken eggs but some are pretty huge! This recipe I used two smaller eggs but if I had larger ones I probably would have only needed one. They are shiny in the picture because I washed them before using them since they were fresh out of the duck.

If you want the recipe I use in an adapted version for Mascarpone Cupcakecakes click here

How I make them

Mascarpone cupcakes are so simple to make. You use a boxed cake mix in any flavor. I use white but sometimes use sugar free yellow when cooking for family members who are diabetic. I prefer white cake over any other flavor. After that you need two egg whites, 1/4 cup of oil, 8 ounces of mascarpone cheese, and one cup of water. Mix the cheese and eggs, then add the oil, water, and cake mix (in that order). You can get mascarpone cheese at most grocery stores where I live in the U.S. I get mine at Walmart.

The batter will be light and fluffy

IMG_8635.JPG

I deviate from the recipe in the link because I use olive oil instead of vegetable oil. It doesn't effect the flavor. I just usually have olive oil on hand more often than vegetable oil. This time around I also used two duck eggs instead of chicken eggs.

Fresh Out of The Oven

IMG_8633.JPG

IMG_8634.JPG

Definitely Different With Duck Eggs Than With Chicken Eggs

So there were some noticeable differences this time around. I should say I've made Mascarpone Cupcakes so many times I've lost count. I follow the recipe and get the same results each time. This was the first time I've ever had a different outcome. With chicken eggs, the cake comes out super moist but they don't fluff up. The tops stay flatish.

IMG_8637.JPG

With duck eggs, the cupcakes were so beautifully fluffy! They were light as air and had a really soft texture in my mouth. The chicken egg version, the cake is light but a bit more dense. You notice the moistness of the cake more. The duck egg version the cake was a bit less moist but not dry and you notice the fluffy texture more.

In ways I really prefer the duck egg version. I loved how the cake puffed up so much. Like I said before, I enjoy the cake so much I don't put icing on them. My husband likes chocolate icing on white cake. He agreed with me about the slight difference in outcome.

So far I am noticing slight differences in duck egg vs chicken eggs in baked dishes. They really do well for baking. I've got around two dozen eggs surplus right now. I've got plans for either banana bread or blueberry bread this week to use up some eggs. I could easily end up making a cheesecake which uses six eggs. I love baking and having pet ducks so much!

Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

Thos look tasty! Have you tried the eggs over-medium with just a pinch of salt yet, to compare to chicken eggs?

Any kind of eggs is fine! (^_^) They are the same except for the taste. But Duck egg taste the same with chicken eggs.

Both types of eggs taste the same. One duck egg equals two chicken eggs. Also, duck eggs have a higher fat content which makes them better for baking because they make things fluffier.

Ohhh yeah, you are right! I forgot that! Duck eggs have higher fat content and it was healthy fats! (^_^)

This is the first time I saw someone using duck eggs for baking. They look fluffy as a cotton candy! I'd bet that these are ten times better than the ones we have at school :)


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94