Learning To Make Awesome Fried Chicken

in #food6 years ago

Making homemade fried chicken that is restaurant quality has been a goal of mine for a while. I've tried different recipes using a variety of methods but have never reached perfection. Tonight I tried a new recipe and came close to what I'm looking for.

IMG_3354.jpg

I've been in the mood to cook and have be researching new recipes. I ran across this recipe for Pioneer Fried Chicken and was intrigued. The writer of the article mentioned it was a copycat recipe from a restaurant called Pioneer Take-Out. The pictures looked really good so I decided to give it a test for dinner.

My first time messing with wet batter fried chicken

IMG_3349.JPG

I usually make dry batter fried chicken. Chicken dipped in egg or milk then dipped in a flour based dry batter is my go to method. I'd never tried a wet batter before but I'm pretty sure this is my new favorite fried chicken. I love cooking any type of chicken because it is often on sale for great prices. It's nice to have an awesome fried chicken recipe to add it to the rotation.

IMG_3351.JPG

I use a wire rack to drain the grease which was another great method which kept the chicken from being too greasy. It was crispy and very much like restaurant quality fried chicken. The only mistake I made was I didn't have celery salt. Instead I used celery seed which was too strong. Next time I will use much less celery seed because it's so potent. Other than that I highly recommend you trying this recipe. It's a great friend chicken.

IMG_3352.JPG

Served with fresh corn and mashed potatoes.

IMG_3357.JPG

My next mission is to learn how to make homemade cheese danish. I'm researching recipes and hopefully I'll have time to try one out soon.

What did you have for dinner today?

Sort:  

Nice post!!! But ... it's just after 10PM EST and now, thanks to your post, I'm suddenly starving. I need a bucket-o-that-stuff 👍🏽👍🏽

You need to make you some. It turned out really delicious. My incredibly picky husband loved it which means a lot to me.

It looks very tasty!

I'm drooling right now, it looks better than KFC. your children won't need to go there when they have you, this chicken seems to be worth cleaning the mess and grease afterwards haha.

Bon appetite!

I would say in ways it was better than KFC. KFC has much more batter to their coating. This was a thin coating which was nicer. You could enjoy the meat easier. It wasn't as greasy either since I drained it on a cooling rack.

That looks tasty! Just don't show those photos to your ducks, when they arrive!

Do you have a good cornbread recipe? Cornbread and fried chicken go together like kids and puppies.

Poor ducks will have to close their eyes! Below is my go to cornbread recipe. It's soft and moist and perfect. I'm from the south so cornbread is a must have food item.
https://www.sixsistersstuff.com/recipe/easy-homemade-cornbread-recipe/?epik=01q06E_IWnwB3

Was actually just about to go and buy some fried chicken... Rethinking that decision now. Might just make my own! Thanks for this!

I hope you made some of this fried chicken! It's a really good recipe for it. My husbands favorite thing to do is bring home a bucket of chicken after a busy day for an easy meal. Cooking it takes some effort but it was just as good, if not better in ways.

It's so early here, and you made me hungry already 😬 lol. Nice recipe.

Hello, my favorite is the chicken, it looks delicious, I can practice this incredible recipe. regards

That's nice I had chicken and pasta

yummy really love this.

The chicken looks awesome. I am like you. I always use a dry coating. But this looks so good, perhaps I will need to try this soon. Survey coming soon. Been kind of crazy here the last few days...

Nice post i like you
Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85