Pasta night and a story

in #food6 years ago

Tonight I had a surprise guest and so it was totally unexpected and she didn't want to order food but asked me to cook her something.

I am usually lazy cooking lately and just prepare simple foods usually fried, soup and pastas.

Not wanting to disappoint I searched the cupboard with what I have. Saw some elbow macaroni, tuna in a can, a few chicken pieces in the fridge and a couple of pork chops.

She was drinking while watching me cut the onions and garlic. I was showing off my new slicer and she smiled as she said I was beaming while explaining it. She said I hardly smile nowadays. There is some truth to that I guess.

I first sauté the onion in butter. Letting it sweat for a few minutes while stirring occasionally so it doesn't get burnt.

Afterwards I added the garlic and I just love the smell of the onions and garlic cooking. It is a scent of home and of spending my time watching my sister cook while I assist her.

I then add my sliced button mushrooms, letting it absorb that onion and garlic flavor and enveloped in butter.

image

Adding a little salt and pepper and also some basil to round it off and let it simmer for a bit.

Then I add some tuna as protein and to give the pasta ( or in this case elbow macaroni from my left over Mac and cheese night dinner)

She then says she wants it as a red sauce and so thank goodness I have some tomato sauce!

image

I let it simmer while occasionally stirring it in low heat because I don't want it burnt. Adding more basil into the sauce.

I listen to her talk about her day. I listen to talk to her about her dreams and what she wants to do. Somehow she always finds herself near me when she is troubled and need to have someone listen.

image

I serve her a bowl and look into her eyes as she enjoy here meal.

Sometimes it is nice to cook for someone.

Sort:  

Hey, @maverickinvictus.

It's interesting how people can wind up in our lives when they're in times of need. I have to say, though, you must like her, because she seemed pretty insistent on things. Cook for me. Make it red sauce. I need to talk to you.

Can't say that ever happens to me, but that's a good thing in my case.

You, though. It sounds like it could have been a good thing that you had someone come over that you could cook for. It is good to be needed, even if it is cooking or doing something you're not as inclined to do otherwise. Sometimes those types of situations can act as motivation to do other things.

I hope you ate, too. :)

She finished everything hahaha but yes it was good to feel needed and have someone rely on me.

Sometimes I wonder why I am here in this world. Lately I have been thinking of my purpose as I somehow feel that I lost my way.

Probably not any consolation, but I've wondered what my purpose in life is a lot. Still do. I think I have it figured out and then I don't. I mean, for me, there's plenty of purpose—getting married, having and raising children, providing for them, teaching them values, seeing them become adults and get married, watching the grandchildren be born so that life has come full circle—but I look beyond that, because that's a purpose many people have. What is my unique purpose? What am I here to do?

So far, it's not to publish papers or make a difference through my fictional writing (though I still hold out hope for that).

I know I've done all kinds of analyzing to the point where it's too much and I just make it complicated. I'm 52. Things shouldn't be complicated anymore. :)

So, if you can figure it out, let me how you did it, eh? :)

Mav, thats built the story nicely..I'm looking forward to part 2 lol;-)
If theres no part 2, its all round to yours for dinner I guess :-)

Be nice to yourself mate and dont forget the friends thing works both ways when you need someone to chat to.

Ahahaha yeah unfortunately there is no part 2 nothing that interesting

'unfortunately' is an interesting response (he said delving deeper for some more salacious gossip lol)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 106 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87