Australian Sausages

in #food5 years ago

IMG_20190412_212943259~2.jpg

I continue my journey through the sausages of the world via the Lucky Peach sausage book I got for Christmas. Now I'm in Australia. So far there hasn't been too awful much that seems distinctly Australian in terms of actual sausages. It's been more about the grilling culture in Australia, of which sausages are a big part. However, I did run across this interesting bit.

IMG_20190412_212917998~2.jpg

So it sounds like this is a commercially produced kangaroo based sausage product. Is this something that is commonly eaten in Australia? The book says most of them are exported, but I think that's just speaking specifically about this product. Are kangaroo sausages, and more generally kangaroo meat readily available in Australia?

Here in the States it's about in the same category as alligator or ostrich. You can get it if you go looking, but it's not at your local grocery. How prevalent is kangaroo meat in Australia? It sounds like it would taste pretty good, but I wonder if there's a stigma about eating it? If anyone has any insight, I would appreciate hearing about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66